Printer

OfficeMax Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OfficeMax.

Serta *disco*Serta PureSoft Executive Massage Chair, Midnight Black

Upholstered in Midnight Black Faux Leather Executive Chair with a Soothing 4 Motor Massage for Maximum Relief with Adjustable Intensity Levels.
Average Customer Rating:
4.053 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
44 out of 57(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for *disco*Serta PureSoft Executive Massage Chair, Midnight Black
Review 1 for *disco*Serta PureSoft Executive Massage Chair, Midnight Black
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Size
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mofril
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Uses:Work
Age:35-44
Date:October 12, 2011
Sleek and comfy
Wanted to buy a chair that somewhat matched other Office Max chairs we had purchased over the summer that are now discontinued. This one was the closest in look and price and turned out to be rather sleek much like a nicer sport seat in a race car. Haven't tried the massage features yet but am really liking the chair overall.
Review 2 for *disco*Serta PureSoft Executive Massage Chair, Midnight Black
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Size
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
obxgami
Location:obxnc
Uses:School - I'm a Teacher/Administrator
Age:45-54
Date:September 6, 2011
easy work chair!
The chair was a little hard to put together, but I did it! It is very comfortable. When using the vibration it is a little noisy. Overall a good buy.
Review 3 for *disco*Serta PureSoft Executive Massage Chair, Midnight Black
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Size
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AverageJoe
Location:Asheville, NC
Uses:Personal use
Age:55-64
Date:August 18, 2011
This is a really nice chair!!
Pros: Quality, Functionality, Durability, massage feature, easy assembly
Cons: none so far....
After writting a very negative review for the Glee II chair, I purchased this one. What an improvement. This is a very comfortable and functional chair. I did not try out the message function in the store, as the chair was not pluged in. Now that I have it at home I must say the masage is a nice added feature. I have tried out an awful lot of chairs, and this seems to be the best of the lot, at a price that was unbeatable, as I got it when on sale. I really don't think you can go wrong with this chair, even if you buy it when not on sale.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for *disco*Serta PureSoft Executive Massage Chair, Midnight Black
User Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Size
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ehfm
Location:City, State
Date:August 14, 2011
Material wears really fast - bolt broke off
Cons: Durability
This is a comfortable chair but the seat material begins to crack and show wear really quickly, as in a matter of months. Same for the "faux" leather covering on the arm rests -- the material cracks very quickly. Luckily, I guess, I purchased MaxAssurance on my chair because today a bolt holding the right arm rest to the body of the chair sheared right off. Half of the bolt is stuck inside the body of the chair with no way to get it out. The bolt literally snapped in half. Pretty cheap if you ask me. I didn't use the motor as it was pretty load and distracting.
Review 5 for *disco*Serta PureSoft Executive Massage Chair, Midnight Black
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Size
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
shadypines
Location:City, State
Uses:Personal use
Date:July 16, 2011
Would NEVER purchase this chair again
Cons: Quality, Durability, Functionality, comfort
I bought this chair in May, and have used it on a daily basis for 2 months. Today (July), as I was getting up, I heard a rip, and looked down to find a 6" tear in the seat. My last leather chair (about the same price) lasted over 5 years before it started wearing through. I can't believe I am going to have to buy ANOTHER chair now, after spending almost $200 on this one just two months ago. I have never had a chair that was so poorly made! Also, this chair seemed comfortable enough in the store, but after I got it home and sat on it for awhile, it seems like the seat is not quite deep enough, and for a person with long legs, there's quite a lot of room left between the end of the chair and the bend of my knees. This makes it fairly uncomfortable after awhile.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for *disco*Serta PureSoft Executive Massage Chair, Midnight Black
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Size
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SanFranMan
Location:City, State
Date:June 13, 2011
Great Value
Pros: Quality, Functionality, Durability
Cons: massage action just vibrates
This chair is very comfortable and the massage motors are a nice addition. The massage motors don't Knead, they just vibrate. The assembly instruction were easy to follow.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for *disco*Serta PureSoft Executive Massage Chair, Midnight Black
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Size
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
pikes taxidermy
Location:Rochester MN
Uses:My own company
Age:35-44
Date:October 8, 2010
Don't waste your money
Cons: Quality, Functionality, Durability
I bought this chair for my office in feb 2010 thinking for the money it must be a good chair considering its a big brand like Serta. Don't wast your money!!!!!!!!!!!! I returned it 10/8/2010 If your looking for a massage feature buy a massage mat ot go over a regular chair. The massage motors are like cell phone viberators on this chair and would cut out for no reason at all. The fabric around the motor wore through quickly, the right arm rest cracked by the base, the hydrolic cilinder would drop slowly with no reason. I was not happy with this chair.
10 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for *disco*Serta PureSoft Executive Massage Chair, Midnight Black
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Size
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mattaclan
Location:City, State
Uses:Work
Age:45-54
Date:October 8, 2010
Ultimate Classic
Pros: Quality, Functionality, classic look
This office chair by Serta is a classic leather design with a comfortable back support with soft leather seating. Classic design looks classy in my office. With the added massage, I can almost look foreward to going to work.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for *disco*Serta PureSoft Executive Massage Chair, Midnight Black
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Size
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rewith85man
Location:VA
Uses:Personal use
Age:18-24
Date:September 27, 2010
Enter the Comfort Zone
Pros: Quality, Functionality, Durability
I bought this chair yesterday. I cannot wait until I get it. It is more than a chair. It is extraordinary in my opinion. It is soft and pure. It comes from a good brand which I have the same one for the bed I sleep on. It is soothing. Its color matches attractively to my room. It is worth the price.
Hopefully, I will not regret it.
1 of 27 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for *disco*Serta PureSoft Executive Massage Chair, Midnight Black
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Size
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AGNTORG
Location:City, State
Date:June 15, 2010
Love the chair
Pros: Quality, Functionality, Durability
I absolutely love this chair. I have had it for over a year now and it is still wonderful. My only problem is that I have lost the power cable and cant find any information online. Can anyone tell me the info for the power adapter?
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for *disco*Serta PureSoft Executive Massage Chair, Midnight Black
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Size
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
never retiring
Location:Louisville, KY
Uses:Work
Age:55-64
Date:June 11, 2010
Took 3 years to find the best!
Pros: Quality, Functionality, Durability, great lumbar support, easy to assemble
I looked for over 3 years to find a reasonably priced chair with good lumbar support. I work at my computer for 8-10 hours every day. In 6 months I've have never had a moment of discomfort. Fantastic quality for the money. (Took it to work instead of using the awful chairs provided by my employer.) Plan to buy another for my home office.
Have never used the massage feature. Seems silly.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for *disco*Serta PureSoft Executive Massage Chair, Midnight Black
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Size
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Stockton,CA
Uses:Work
Age:25-34
Date:March 31, 2010
Great Chair To Work From!
Pros: Quality, Functionality, Durability
Like everything about this chair. The only complaint would be that the cord to the massage remote is a little long and sometimes can get caught on the lever right beneath it. Too many pro's about the product to let that bother me though.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for *disco*Serta PureSoft Executive Massage Chair, Midnight Black
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Size
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
luvbugnmama1
Location:Shreveport, LA
Uses:Personal use
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Date:January 23, 2010
Absolutely wonderful!
Pros: Quality, Functionality, Durability
I spend up to 10 hours a day in front of my computer & this chair is an absolute essential for anyone with back problems who has to sit in from of a computer all day.
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for *disco*Serta PureSoft Executive Massage Chair, Midnight Black
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Size
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BudTime
Uses:Work
Age:25-34
Date:January 22, 2010
Great chair at a great price.
Pros: Quality, Functionality, Durability, comfort
Just wanted to give a quick review to tell everyone how great this chair is. I have have this chair, which I purchased from OfficeMax, for 6-8 months. So far I have not had a single issue yet with the chair. During this time I have been primarily been using this chair for personal use at home and I am one of those people that spend more time in their computer chair than in any other piece of furniture in the house. (Excluding sleeping in the bed.) With this being said I do believe that the durability of this unit has been tested and proven. I liked this unit so much I moved it to the office for everyday use. The massage function is more of a vibration function, but comfortable never the less. By my personal tastes this chair was the most comfortable in its class when trying it in the store and the massage was just an added bonus. On the flip side there are several possible cons, although they do not apply to me, I did think they were worth mentioning because I could totally understand how it could bother and affect some. One is that the chair could be a bit tight for larger people. The arms may be too narrow for some and the back may be too short for those that are tall. The cord does occasionaly does get in the way, and run over, but the cord has not failed or frayed yet. Overall I love this chair but I would agree that I do not think it is for everyone, if you are like me and prefer to try these kinds of things in the store, then I think most will be pleasantly suprised by the comfort which is the most important thing of all to look for in a chair, not the frills.
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for *disco*Serta PureSoft Executive Massage Chair, Midnight Black
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Size
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bdcusa
Location:Lawrence, Kansas
Uses:My own company
Age:35-44
Date:November 30, 2009
Pathetic Quality
Cons: Quality, Functionality, Durability
I bought this as a Christmas present to myself a year ago. I found the massage function to be laughable. Rather than being a true massage motor, it is only a glorified cellular phone vibrator. If it does anything, it tickles rather than relaxes muscles.
As for the other qualities of this chair, I have only once before been in a chair that barely allows my legs to get inside. I have beefy thighs and in only this chair and one at a client's location do I feel constrained. When I'm in my office, I need to feel comfortable. As such, all too often, I sit in a rolling guest chair rather than this one. On top of that, the arms are made very weakly. I often like to lean back in my chair and twice now in the past year, the plastic right arm has broken at the same point: just above the frontmost bolt holding the arm to the chair. The first time, the manufacturer replaced the arm under warranty. I am sure that they would not do so again.
I will most definitely not recommend this chair to anyone nor will I consider buying another at any time in the future. Avoid the product like the bubonic plague!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
12 of 27 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for *disco*Serta PureSoft Executive Massage Chair, Midnight Black
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Size
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BrookStone5
Location:Mohave Valley, AZ
Uses:My own company
Age:55-64
Date:November 30, 2009
Good as discounted item...
Pros: Quality, Durability
Cons: Functionality, power supply gets in the way, not really "executive"
the products looks as nice as the online description showed...but...I wouls suggest never to buy a office chair online unless you have already physically tested that modle for yourself "In-Store" and if it will fit your size and needs.
The label "Exectutive" is decieving and unless you are under 5'5'' in height...this chair will not give upper support to your shoulders and neck because the height of the back of the chair is only 24.75" from the lower cushion where your lower back would touch.
It's understandable that the power supply would be via a powerblock plugged into the wall...the problem is it's too short to use if your are to move around in the office.
I've had better portable seat massage units (seat cover type) purchased for $19-$30 that do a better job.
The power cord will get caught in the wheels of the chair if you move the chair while the power cord is plugged in.
On a positive note...if you just need a comfortable short backed office chair...this will do fine...and the padded arms make the world of difference.
I would not buy this chair again for my needs...but for shorter people this may very well suffice..
The massage feature is a "vibrate only" action...there are no moving cervos in this unit.
I bought two...opened one...left the other in the box to give as a gift to someone who it may work for...as overall it does not fit our needs...
Again...test the chairs physically first in the showroom...then there will be no mistake as to whether the unit will fit your needs...
16 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for *disco*Serta PureSoft Executive Massage Chair, Midnight Black
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Size
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nisovagal
Uses:Personal use
Age:35-44
Date:November 27, 2009
Worst Purchase Ever
Cons: Quality, Functionality, Durability
The worst chair I got in my life.Had the chair for less than a year and the leather is peeling all over the floor.The massage components is not strong enough.Does not meet all the pressure points.The chair is about to fall apart.
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for *disco*Serta PureSoft Executive Massage Chair, Midnight Black
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Size
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lunachik
Location:Southern East Coast
Uses:Personal use
Age:55-64
Date:November 23, 2009
This chair is great!
Pros: Quality, Functionality, Durability, price
This chair is great. It was easy to put together and came with extra screws and tools. After sitting in it for 15 minutes with the massager on full blast not only was I so relaxed I got sleepy but it really got the circulation going in my back. I sit about 14 hours a day and this chair is, without question, the most comfortable "executive" chair I've ever had. I would highly recommend it to anyone. I should buy another one in case this one is discontinued.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for *disco*Serta PureSoft Executive Massage Chair, Midnight Black
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Size
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vital7
Location:Tonawanda, NY
Uses:Work
Age:55-64
Date:November 2, 2009
Cord Problems
Cons: Quality, Durability
This is a very comfortable chair and a good price but the cord has frayed on me twice and I only received this chair in August, 2009.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for *disco*Serta PureSoft Executive Massage Chair, Midnight Black
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Size
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KBB918
Uses:Work
Age:45-54
Date:October 27, 2009
Great Purchase
Pros: Quality, Functionality, Durability
A very good product at a very reasonable price. I purchased this chair in 2007 and it is extremely comfortable and is still in great shape. I use it daily in my office.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>