Printer

OfficeMax Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OfficeMax.

Brother Brother MFC–6490CW Wide Format Inkjet All–in–One

The Professional Series MFC–6490CW Wide Format inkjet multifunction is perfect for creating impressive everyday business documents such as reports, presentations, spreadsheets, proposals and more!
Average Customer Rating:
4.244 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
77 out of 90(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brother MFC–6490CW Wide Format Inkjet All–in–One
Review 1 for Brother MFC–6490CW Wide Format Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OfficeMax Expert Reviewer
Location:naperville, il
FEATURED REVIEW
EXPERT REVIEW
Date:March 19, 2010
Dual Paper trays and 11 x 17 capability
The very unique Brother MFC6490CW Inkjet: offers print, copy, scan, and fax all up to 11x17; featuring wireless connection and dual paper trays that hold up to 400 sheets.
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brother MFC–6490CW Wide Format Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Print Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Easy to Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Speed
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:pensacola fl
Uses:Personal use
Age:45-54
Date:October 26, 2010
Not worth the bucks
I bought this printer specifically for the capability to print larger copies. The print examples in the store looked great but my copies never look that good. Also the printer uses quite a bit of ink.
Review 3 for Brother MFC–6490CW Wide Format Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DirectionWorks
Location:Bell, FL
Uses:My own company
Age:45-54
Date:September 28, 2010
Love the Fax too!
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features, paperless fax, large format, easy scan to email
The printer is great, loads of features. Ink fairly priced.. My favorite part of the printer is print pre-view and scanning features. Print Preview allows me to decide which faxes to print and which to delete before wasting my ink and paper. The scanning feature works great to scan to a .pdf or image on my computer and send it off in an email. It's quiet, capable and I will recommend Brother Printers for the office anytime!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brother MFC–6490CW Wide Format Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Barb R
Location:Macomb Township, MI
Uses:Work
Age:55-64
Date:July 6, 2010
Terrific AIO
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
We had been looking for a wide format printer (11 x 17) and getting quotes in the thousands...just for kicks I went to Office Max and found this unit - on sale - with a cash reward Visa! and ordered one on the spot. We weren't sure about the quality of inkjet vs laser, but this unit gave us great quality and was relatively simple to set up. You have to read the book for various functions, but they were all easy to understand and use. We actually are considering purchasing a second unit for another office. Definately a keeper!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brother MFC–6490CW Wide Format Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
harriflex
Location:St Paul, Minnesota
Uses:Personal use
Age:45-54
Date:May 3, 2010
Great printer
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
This is one of the best all in one printers I have ever had. The wide format makes it easy to scan 11 X 14 photos. The two paper trays make it possible to load two sizes or colors of paper. The wireless option was a snap to set up for my laptop. Now I can print from anywhere in the house. The fax document feeder works like a charm. No more feeding one page at a time and having to tell your machine if you need to scan another one before sending. Just put in up to 20 pages in the feeder punch in the fax number and the Brother takes care of the rest. The whole family loves this one.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brother MFC–6490CW Wide Format Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfied User
Location:City, State
Date:April 12, 2010
Great for business users
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
Cons: 11x17 sheets fall out of printer after printing
I'm a small business owner and we recently bought the 6490CW after having a Brother 7840W B/W Laser All-in-one (which we still use to print docs and receive faxes). However, we needed to get a 11x17 printer for color CAD drawings and also to print color presentations from time to time. The scan feature on both printers is easy to use as well. The color printout in the store demo showed some banding lines of color on some prints but the one we have has good quality prints. The 11x17 prints reasonably fast for us, maybe about 5 seconds for a page. The setup is very fast. My only complaint is that the 11x17 printouts fall out of the printer...maybe it is a user error on the setup!
If you can get the 6490 on sale at the $220 or less, go buy it if you have the business need. It is a large printer so you need plenty of space. If you plan to print a lot of B/W 8 1/2 x 11 documents, I would go ahead and also get a standard brother B/W Laser printer with network-2170 model or similar. The brother laser cartridges last a long time.
Can't go wrong with a Brother and it sure beats the HP's that I've replaced.
Hope this helps the rest of you.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brother MFC–6490CW Wide Format Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Speed
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tiger85
Location:Ridgefield, CT
Uses:Personal use
Age:17 or younger
Date:April 9, 2010
Nice printer but larger than expected
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
I bought this for our home printer. It's very nice and relatively easy to set up. It's much larger than I thought. It takes up more space than I expected but is solid. You just can't make it "unseen" in a business/office room like other printers. It was a good sale so I purchased it for my daughter who is entering high school and needed a decent color printer. I have yet to try out the copy or fax or scan modes, but I like that it is capable of all!
Review 8 for Brother MFC–6490CW Wide Format Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Print Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Easy to Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Speed
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Vandl
Location:Taylor, MI
Uses:My own company
Age:35-44
Date:March 1, 2010
Disappointed
Pros: Features
Cons: Does Not Meet Expectations, Set up
Unit was promising for the features that it offered, especially for the very affordable price. However, the software would not work and conflicted with all kinds of programs in my computer. Tried for 30 hours to troubleshoot the problems, hoping it would eventually work, but to no avail. It was a waste of time and money, so I ended up returning the item. Very frustrating and disappointing.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brother MFC–6490CW Wide Format Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
incredible
Uses:My own company
Age:55-64
Date:February 22, 2010
Incredible printer
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
We found our new brother easy to install and get working. Works like a champion.
Review 10 for Brother MFC–6490CW Wide Format Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jfey
Location:Nashville, Tennessee
Uses:Work
Age:55-64
Date:February 22, 2010
Printes & copies 11" x 17" ledger size paper
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features, handles 11" x 17" ledger size paper
Cons: wireless hard to connect.
I am in the HVAC business and needed an "all-in-one" printer and copier that would handle 11' X 17" ledger size paper. Some drawings and floor plans are now on ledger size paper. The Brother MC-6490CW does this at an affordable price.
I have used the scanner, fax and printer and they work well. I have it connected to my computer by a USB cable. This is the first wireless printer I have owned and I am having trouble with the wireless connection. I have an att DSL router and I am having communication problems.
OfficeMax is the only office supply store that I could find in my area that markets and stocks printers and copiers that handle ledger size paper, so I was glad I went there and looked around.
Overall this is a great all-in-one printer, copier, scanner and fax machine for the money.
Review 11 for Brother MFC–6490CW Wide Format Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Speed
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Billybob
Location:Seattle, WA
Uses:My own company
Age:55-64
Date:February 15, 2010
Great 11x17 printer for the $$
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
I have a Mac and the connection was great...recognized it fine and it works like it should...sometimes it needs a printer restart for the computer to find it, but a minor issue...
Review 12 for Brother MFC–6490CW Wide Format Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BLISS
Location:RICHMOND,VA
Uses:Personal use
Age:45-54
Date:February 10, 2010
VERY GOOD
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations
Cons: does not print on both sides of the paper
ONLY PROBLEMS I HAVE HAD ARE 1 PAPER JAM AND I WOULD LIKE THE COPIER TO PRINT ON 2 SIDES OF THE PAPER WITHOUT DOING IT MANUALLY.
Review 13 for Brother MFC–6490CW Wide Format Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Davetherave
Location:LA, CA
Age:25-34
Date:February 1, 2010
Glad I have this now
This printer is great for its price. I purchased it primarily for printing out drawn storyboards on 11 X 17 paper and scanning in large drawings. The scanner is beautiful and works well with Adobe Photoshop. The mostly black and white storyboards print well on good laser/inkjet paper. It won't come out quite as bright or the ink as dark as laser, but that costs a heck of a lot more for a little adjust. I don't use that much color in my storyboards; so I can't comment too much in that area. But judging from what I've seen from this printer, I might still print color work on laser. I still haven't tried glossy paper, and that might have some effect on color. The print speed is pretty good and Overall, this printer is excellent for home use and emergency portfolio print-outs for an artist. I recommend it.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brother MFC–6490CW Wide Format Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
verypicky
Location:Corona, Ca
Uses:Work
Age:45-54
Date:November 16, 2009
excels for excel
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
Cons: none
This is a tabloid printer that printers big, have you ever needed to print an excel spread sheet and could not read it because it was so small of print? This printer does landscape on at 11x17" paper i can get allot of info on that size at 12 pt type. The printer is also wireless and everyone in the office sends their work to it. Just watch out for the key board it works like texting but they put numbers last when entering them. Scans anything and big sizes too. Handles two paper sizes. so for it's worked great, lots of ink came with it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brother MFC–6490CW Wide Format Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Speed
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GeorgieD
Uses:Personal use
Age:55-64
Date:October 19, 2009
Great Service
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
Product arrived ahead of schedule. It was easy to set up on a LAN so there are no wires connecting the printer to the actual laptop. The printer, scanner and Fax all work great. Lots of function. Seems like a quality product.
Review 16 for Brother MFC–6490CW Wide Format Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Easy to Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Speed
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JC GA
Location:Roswell, GA
Uses:Work
Age:35-44
Date:October 17, 2009
Good option for scanning large items
Pros: Features, scan size
As an all-in-one it strikes me as being fairly average overall. Nothing special, but nothing awful. The main reason I chose this all-in-one is because of the size of the scanning bed. I am a music teacher and often need to scan scores. I couldn't find any other scanner or all-in-one anywhere near this price that could accomodate folio sizes (everything is sized for 8 1/2 by 11). That alone has made it a great buy for me. Fortunately I don't need professional quality printing or photos printing, but it does a good enough job for day-to-day printing and I can print on paper larger than legal. The fax and copy functions do all I need them to do and they are easy to use.
The software included (PaperPort) is decent for managing the scanning. Not as good as Adobe Acrobat, but hey, it was free. I haven't been able to figure out how to print to PaperPort in other applications the way you can with Acrobat. It has the option but it has never worked.
So if you need to scan large documents it's worth it. If you don't need that then you can probably find better all-in-ones. Plus, the large scan size also means a large footprint - it takes up some serious space!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brother MFC–6490CW Wide Format Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dle001
Location:Port Huron, MI
Uses:Personal use
Age:45-54
Date:October 12, 2009
Brother MFC-6490CW purchase
Good product and performs tasks as expected. No troubles in setting up, have not done multiple computers implementation though.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brother MFC–6490CW Wide Format Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Speed
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
picke
Uses:Work
Age:35-44
Date:September 28, 2009
a lot of printer for the money!
Pros: Meets Expectations, Features, 11x17 scanning and printing
Cons: Set up
Hey folks, this is a lot of printer for the money - and good quality too!
The 11x17 scanning and printing was the draw for me.
Set this up wirelessly or though your network for your whole house or office to use. I do not print photos, but all other printing has worked great for me.
Highly recommended!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brother MFC–6490CW Wide Format Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Speed
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JohnnyR
Uses:My own company
Age:45-54
Date:September 15, 2009
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations
Easy set-up even on a wireless network, and I'm no geek. Prints and scans just fine. 11x17 is just perfect!
Review 20 for Brother MFC–6490CW Wide Format Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SannyC
Location:Salem, VA
Uses:Personal use
Age:Over 65
Date:September 15, 2009
Very Best Purchase
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features, adf will work with large ledger and legal, reduces ledger & legal to letter size
I work on my genealogy and have a lot of ledger and legal size papers that I can now reduce to letter size. I was amazed at the photo printer quality.
All I have to do is slip my memory card into the slot on the front and produce beautiful pictures. I can use the copier as a stand alone, with not haveing to use my computer. I can load legal and ledger paper in the feeder when I really need that size of copy. I think it is great you can use the High Yield Ink and use the black because that is what I really use alot. The view screen pops up and the controls are so simple to use. The 6490 really installed its self, I was shocked at how easy it was. I thought I would still need my photo printer but I haven't used it at all. I would highly recommend the MFC-6490-CW to anyone that wants a reliable printer, scanner. I have never used the FAX but I'm sure it is tops.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>