Printer

OfficeMax Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Neat Receipts Neat Desk Desktop ADF Scanner

Organize your paper and simplify your life. NeatDesk an ADF scanner and software solution to Store, Organize, Secure. It transform paper into information that works
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
12 out of 16(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Neat Desk Desktop ADF Scanner
Review 1 for Neat Desk Desktop ADF Scanner
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tech Geek
Location:University Hts, OH
Uses:Work
Age:55-64
Date:July 11, 2014
What a Beast
Pros: Resolution, speed, portability
Cons: none
The document feeder is fast uploading documents quickly with no lag time. Don't know what the problem is with other reviewers with 3 starts or less, but this machine is great. I'm using MacBook Pro. No problems with the software. I would highly recommend this product.
Review 2 for Neat Desk Desktop ADF Scanner
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sv88
Location:weaverville ca
Uses:Work
Age:25-34
Date:February 18, 2014
neat desk
Pros: portability, speed, Resolution
we bought neat desk for our small business and we absolutely love it i also really like the program it comes with it is truly amazing how it knows where everything goes.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Neat Desk Desktop ADF Scanner
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
happy mom 13
Location:Downing Wi
Uses:Personal use
Age:35-44
Date:March 11, 2013
scanner
Pros: speed
Cons: none still learning
i like this keeps my reciets all in one without all the paper i am still trying to figure things out about how it all works
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Neat Desk Desktop ADF Scanner
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
winzer2h
Location:City, State
Date:February 26, 2013
NEAT DESKTOP
Pros: speed, Resolution
Cons: Price Point
I give the actual scanner an A++, but the software installation process leaves a lot to desire. Had to call their technical support several times.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Neat Desk Desktop ADF Scanner
User Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Dakota 51
Location:SD
Uses:My own company
Age:55-64
Date:February 22, 2013
Mixed feelings
Pros: speed, Resolution
Cons: Compatability, no support
My feelings on this product mixed. To start with I ordered this on line because the closest store is about 200 miles. Came quick, but the scanner was DOA. It was wrapped up in the box but it was not wrapped up like the new replacement unit was. I kept getting an error message that there was a paper jamb. and nothing was ever in it. there was some kind of sticker on the out side of the box with hand written numbers on it. The inside was full of dust but with out any other visible sign of problems. To me it looked as though it was a returned item that was re shipped and not checked.
As for the unit itself I was one of the lucky ones that had problems installingng the soft ware. I tried followingng the printed directions that came with the scanner but it failed to install correctly. After about 2 hours I gave up. I was going by an OFFICE MAX store the next day so I exchanged the item for differentnt unit. No hassles and the people were very helpful.
The good news I opened the new box put the installationtion cd in my computer. Clicked next a few times, did not turn off the virusrous protection as you are instructed to do, and every thing instaled perfectly, up and running in 15 min. It took a little longer to update the soft ware to the newest version, after everything was running.
The good points are attractiv in appearance, not exactly compact but smaller than my fax. Reasonably quiet, and for the most part fast enough for office use. No I did not put a stop watch on it. The duplex scanning worked well and makes clear scans even of pictures and graphics.
The soft ware is a different issue. It works but is not that user friendly. The only way the scaner will work is to have the neat software open. Will not scan to any other programs. Pdf are scanned to you computer which is fine but you need good filling skills, and now you have 2 places for your documents.
One of the reason I picked this unit was because you could export information directly to Qiickbooks. Not verry quick, but I think I will get faster as I use it more. Right now I can enter bills and invoices faster by hand. Part of the reason is when I scaned 10 invoices in, none of the information was correct. I had to correct everything manualy on every invoice.Several of these were Quick books invoices clear and the information in the same place. It failed to pick up the company name, dollor amounts and tax amounts. Other than having a picture of the invoice to save the soft ware is not much help. I think it is a great idea that just has not been perfected yet like so many products out there.
As for the company I find the tutorials lacking.When I use somthing for the first time I like some where I can look that hase every thing layed out step A B C etc.
There instruction viedos are a viedo overview on what you can do and not how to do them. Also the company hasno phone suport. You have to send them an e-mail with your problem and they will get back to you. Mine took 2 days to get an answer for what I already took care of. In a business if I can not get help, with a phone call in an hour or two, the product goes back to the store, I am not going to wait days for an answer.
It is not a bad scaner Just not a great one. For the price I paid (it was on sale) I am keeping it. Maybe we will get lucky and have a software upgrade to make it more functional. If I had to pay full price I probably would have returned it. There are better scanners out ther for not much more money.
44 of 45 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Neat Desk Desktop ADF Scanner
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jagdish
Location:Vancouver, WA
Uses:My own company
Age:55-64
Date:January 28, 2013
Average
Pros: speed
Cons: Compatability
The scanner is great except I have to be in the program to scan and the feattures are a little tricky.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Neat Desk Desktop ADF Scanner
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NanaBee
Location:City, State
Uses:Personal use
Age:Over 65
Date:January 27, 2013
The Best
Pros: portability, speed, Resolution, Easy to Use
Cons: Price Point
This Scanner is absolutely amazing - the software is so easy to use and I am thrilled with my Neat Desk - wish I had bought it sooner. Anyone wanting to get rid of all that paper clutter - buy it - you won't be sorry!
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Neat Desk Desktop ADF Scanner
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Florida Sunshine Gal
Location:Sarasota, FL
Uses:My own company
Age:45-54
Date:May 7, 2012
Excellent Product
Pros: speed, Resolution
Cons: Price Point
I had the portable scanner and loved it, but this is 10x better for what I need to do. It's all set up and ready to go and easy to use. I definitely would recommend this to a friend. Initially I hesitated because of the cost, but I find that after purchase, it is well worth the money.
22 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Neat Desk Desktop ADF Scanner
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mercy
Location:City, State
Date:February 8, 2012
Love it - just not its software
Pros: speed, Resolution
I suppose I could figure out the software but I use this scanner to produce PDFs en masse. It is super fast and easy to set up and works AMAZING with PDF Converter Pro instead of the Neat Works software.
12 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Neat Desk Desktop ADF Scanner
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bamamomma
Location:City, State
Date:October 13, 2011
Check Quicken compatibility before purchase!
Pros: potential of the product
Cons: Compatability
I REALLY wanted (and needed!) this solution to work. However, after trying to tame the Paper Monster by purchasing an up-to-date version of Quicken, an external hard drive, NeatDesk, and spending two days trying to make it all work together, I learned that NeatDesk is NOT COMPATIBLE with Quicken 2012!! There is currently NOTHING on the box, display, or the website's technical specs to indicate it is only compatible with Quicken 2011 or earlier; this info is buried in the Support files. NeatWorks is aware of the problem but isn't publicizing it to potential customers...after purchase, they will suggest waiting for a fix to be available at some undetermined future date. So...if you get/have Quicken 2012, check for updated specs or with the company to be SURE you can TRY to make it work as advertised!
81 of 88 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Neat Desk Desktop ADF Scanner
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Installation
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
busymom74
Location:Lincoln, Ne
Uses:Personal use
Age:35-44
Date:December 18, 2010
Bad purchase
Cons: Useability, no support except email
This was one of my worst purchases ever. I am returning it tomorrow and will buy a better one. This does not work and the needed support help is not available except by email. Do not buy this item unless you are willing to waste a lot of time!!!!!
64 of 80 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Neat Desk Desktop ADF Scanner
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Installation
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BobbyB
Location:City, State
Date:October 12, 2010
Very, Very Poor Support - Avoid
Cons: support
The product itself is decent but the support is just horrible. Eventually you will need support and they only offer e-mail support. They take a very long time to respond and a non-chalant about losing data. Find a product with better support--there are many solutions out there.
37 of 39 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Neat Desk Desktop ADF Scanner
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jodim
Location:Illinois
Uses:Personal use
Age:45-54
Date:September 17, 2009
It does what it says it will
I purchased a Neat Desk and it works beautifully. Scanned in a receipt and the software recognized that it was a receipt leaving me to hardly have to type in a thing. Next step was to store it in a file I created. Still a little on the pricey side but so worth it when you're looking for an important document, receipt, whatever. Just call it up and print if you need to. It's amazing!
80 of 84 found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Neat Desk Desktop ADF Scanner
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5