Printer

OfficeMax Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OfficeMax.

Serta Serta Executive High–Back Chair, Brown

Serta high back executive chair has pillow top design for extra comfort.
Average Customer Rating:
4.297 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
78 out of 91(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Serta Executive High–Back Chair, Brown
Review 1 for Serta Executive High–Back Chair, Brown
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OfficeMax Expert Reviewer
Location:naperville, il
FEATURED REVIEW
EXPERT REVIEW
Date:February 21, 2011
Good chair with good comfort
Serta high back executive chair has pillow top design for extra comfort,
perfect for someone long hours at a desk
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
25 of 76 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Serta Executive High–Back Chair, Brown
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Size
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
heavenlykapua
Location:Honolulu, HI
Uses:Work
Age:55-64
Date:July 29, 2013
happiness is
Pros: Quality, Functionality, styling
Serta Executive high back chair. Great comfort and value for the price. Feeling pretty important in it!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Serta Executive High–Back Chair, Brown
User Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Size
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ghost Man
Location:Sugar Land, Texas
Uses:Personal use
Age:55-64
Date:June 22, 2013
Poor quality and bad customer service
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Quality, Durability
I bought this chair 3 months ago. The chair was comfortable and was good for my needs.
I recently noticed a tear on one of the seams in the seat cushion. The tear was not even in a stress area, but was on the side of the cushion where two seams met. Poor workmanship. I emailed the manufacturer, but have not received a response. Even though this isn't Office Max’s fault, I plan on going back to them to see if they can do something about it. If you purchase this chair, I would highly suggest you get the extended warranty (I didn't) from Office Max, because the manufacturer doesn't care about their customers.
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Serta Executive High–Back Chair, Brown
User Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Size
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Grand Forks
Location:City, State
Date:April 25, 2013
Meh
Cons: Quality
Ordered 11 of these. One broke the same day and one was defective (did not go together properly..
8 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Serta Executive High–Back Chair, Brown
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Size
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tiaf1one
Location:Laramie WY
Uses:Work
Age:55-64
Date:April 15, 2013
Great value on comfy supportive chair!
Pros: Quality, Functionality, Durability, super comfortable, the value is superb
Cons: hadn't found one yet
This chair is great and will probably become a favorite of my office. It is comfortable and has an adjustable lumbar support. The person sitting in it won't share with anyone!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Serta Executive High–Back Chair, Brown
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Size
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Timbo from Texas
Location:Midland, TX
Uses:Work
Age:55-64
Date:March 25, 2013
Excellent Executive Chair
Pros: Quality, Functionality, Durability, pricing
Cons: need two people for assembly
For comfort and money this chair ranks up there with La-z-boy. We bought several of these years and there are still in great shape so we decided to buy more and put them in our executive conference room.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Serta Executive High–Back Chair, Brown
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Size
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my aching back
Location:City, State
Date:February 5, 2013
Perfect chair
Pros: Quality, Functionality
After having been thru 6 weeks of therapy for my lower back, I noticed that no matter how good I was feeling, everytime I sat in my computer chair my back started acting up. I spent over an hour trying out chairs in the store and came across this one. It not only goes back and forth and up and down but the angle of the back is adjustable as well. It also has the lumbar adjustment. The adjustable angle of the back is its biggest plus. I have been using this chair for 4 days now at 6-8 hours a day and NO MORE BACKACHE!!!! Yay! It is not only comfortable but well constructed. I have not had any of the problems that some other people have had with it. It does NOT smell, it was very easy for 1 person to put together, the back absolutely does adjust and it is very pretty as well. Well worth the money. I cannot attest to the durability as I have only had it 4 days but I am very hopeful that we will have a long relationship.
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Serta Executive High–Back Chair, Brown
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Size
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bobert
Location:City, State
Uses:Personal use
Date:December 25, 2012
Good chair but be careful with weight limit
Pros: Quality, Functionality
Cons: Durability
I have had the chair for about 7 months now, it's very comfortable and fits my back really nicely. No rips or anything so far and it didn't smell when i received it. It was kind of annoying to setup because the back of the chair is only connected to the handles so i had to line up the screws while holding the back of the chair in place. The weight limit i believe is 225 or 230. I weighed 240 when i got it and it hasn't broken so you don't have to worry too much. But the only thing that concerns me is that even when its not reclined it has some give to it when you push back. Its not very stiff when you want it to stay upright. So i always feel like i might break out the screw when i lean back. Today i heard what i believe is one of the screws in the handle popping out so i may need to fix it soon. Otherwise its one of the most comfortable chairs i have ever sit in. I also sit in it anywhere from 1-9 hours a day.
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Serta Executive High–Back Chair, Brown
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Size
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boston617
Location:City, State
Date:December 5, 2012
Great Value
Pros: Quality, Functionality
Awesome chair. Really comfortable, looks good at the desk, and excellent value for the price. One thing: adjusting the lumbar support is a loud and tedious process, one that could annoy colleagues in a quiet office.
Review 10 for Serta Executive High–Back Chair, Brown
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mango
Location:Waco, TX
Uses:Work
Age:35-44
Date:November 29, 2012
Love it after a year...
Pros: Functionality, Durability, Quality
It looks great and is the most comfy office chair I've ever had. After a year, the pneumatic lift is going out, so I'm going to have to replace that, but I'm a big guy and I've come to expect that. I'd rather replace the lift than replace the chair, which still looks great.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Serta Executive High–Back Chair, Brown
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Size
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
compdude512
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Uses:Personal use
Date:November 12, 2012
Great chair, but with flaws
Pros: Functionality, Durability, comfortable for long hours, firm but comfortable seat, lumbar support knob
Cons: defects in plastic
I just bought this chair today, and I really cannot believe how comfortable it is. It's definitely a vast improvement over my old chair, which was a seven-year-old $129 model that OfficeMax no longer carries.
The reason I picked this chair over all the others available is because the seat is firm yet comfortable. I could've bought a cheaper chair, but I would've been sacrificing comfort and padding to save a few bucks. The seat is filled with a memory foam material that feels just like the mattress topper on my bed. The marketing material says this chair is built for long hours, and I can attest to that.
When it comes to height, I'm 6'1", and this chair seats me comfortably without being on the highest adjustment level. I'd say it could go up another 1/2-1 inch, but I'm comfortable enough without raising the chair any higher.
Assembly was pretty easy and only took about 25 minutes. I did have to have someone hold the back of the chair in place while I assembled it.
If you're on the fence and wondering whether you should get the black or brown version of this chair, definitely get the brown. The black chair looks cheap and has bright white stitching in the leather. The stitching in the brown chair is more of a deep chocolate brown and blends in well with the rest of the chair. The display model of the black chair also showed wear a lot more than the brown one.
Now to the flaws. This chair has visible defects in the plastic. Mine has several deep gashes underneath the left arm, a scratch on the inside of the right arm, and roughness around the screw holes in both arms. The finish was also worn off the top of the lumbar adjustment knob when I removed the protective foam cover that came on it in the box. It's really a shame that my chair has these defects, or I wouldn't hesitate to make this a five-star review. Someone needs to step up the quality control in the plastics department. I'm shocked they'd send a chair out of the factory looking like this.
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Serta Executive High–Back Chair, Brown
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Size
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
acesario
Location:City, State
Uses:Work
Age:35-44
Date:September 28, 2012
Very uncomforable.
Cons: Quality, Functionality, uncomfortable!!!
This chair seemed really comfy in the store. The features like the lumbar support seemd a good idea and the material was nice.... HOWEVER, I cannot sit for even half a day in this chair. The lumbar is like an iron bar across my back. I would return it if I could. The seat is not padded enough and in order to use the high head rest you would have to arch your back and look up.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Serta Executive High–Back Chair, Brown
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Size
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
pbambe
Location:Pennsylvania
Uses:Work
Age:45-54
Date:September 19, 2012
Separating at seams within 6 months-and I'm small!
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Durability
I weigh less than 120 lbs and my 'executive' chair is separating at the seams within 6 months of use. What would a larger person experience?
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Serta Executive High–Back Chair, Brown
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Size
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cubby
Location:Colorado Springs
Uses:Personal use
Age:35-44
Date:August 20, 2012
EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE
Pros: Quality, Durability
Great chair! I paired it with the Sauder Aspen Desk. With the chair at it's lowest setting, the arms just slide under the bottom of the desk.
Very, very comfortable chair.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Serta Executive High–Back Chair, Brown
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Size
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
catmomofthree
Location:Union, MO
Uses:Personal use
Age:55-64
Date:April 1, 2012
Looks nice, but doesn't fit my back right
Pros: Quality, Durability, looks nice
Cons: not comfortable for my back, hard to attach back to chair
The chair looks very nice and much better than my old microfiber chair. However, my old chair felt more comfortable. I tried this chair in the store a few times and it seemed to be fine. When I started sitting in this one though, I find the lumbar support hits me in the wrong spot of my back and I am not even sure the adjustment knob on it does anything. The support is too low for me and lower than my past chair. The chair back was hard to put on as it is difficult getting the holes to line up and the screws started. It looks great overall and the price was good. I wish the back fit my back better, but putting it in the box to return it would have been a real problem too.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Serta Executive High–Back Chair, Brown
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RICHLS
Location:Lincolnshire, IL
Uses:Personal use
Age:35-44
Date:March 16, 2012
Love it!
Pros: Functionality, comfortable
Gave in and finally bought a new desk chair for the home office. I should have done it ages ago, this chair is really comfortable for me -- I'm 6' and 225 lbs. I can't speak for long-term durability but after daily use of a few hours over the last month, so far so good!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Serta Executive High–Back Chair, Brown
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Size
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TGregg
Location:City, State
Date:February 2, 2012
So Nice!
Pros: Quality, Functionality, Durability
LIGHTNING fast shipping, I had the delivery guy at my door the next day. My old chair was really getting worn down and causing me back problems. I ordered this chair after some searching, and can't believe the difference. The arms have excellent, soft padding. The seat just makes me say "ahhh" when I sit in it, it's so comfortable and roomy. It rolls around very smoothly. Putting it together is fairly basic but having an extra pair of hands while you attach the arms to the seat and back is definitely a plus. I hate being one of those reviewers that gush all over something but I honestly can't think of one bad thing or word of criticism to say about it.
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Serta Executive High–Back Chair, Brown
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stukap
Location:Sunrise, Florida
Uses:Work
Age:55-64
Date:January 30, 2012
Great chair
Pros: Quality, Functionality, Durability
Easy to assemble. Very comfortable chair to sit in for hours at a time.
Review 19 for Serta Executive High–Back Chair, Brown
User Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Size
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
russtolian
Location:Marlboro, MA
Uses:Personal use
Age:35-44
Date:January 16, 2012
Good chair, but stinks.
Pros: Quality, Functionality
Cons: strong odor
Easy to setup. Looks and feels comfortable. Don't know how long the padding will last as I can see some sagging after only a month, although my biggest complaint would be that the chair smells. It got a bit better after a month, but still stinks somewhat. So would advise some caution to those sensitive types, especially if the chair is for your house.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Serta Executive High–Back Chair, Brown
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Size
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workin4Peanuts
Location:City, State
Date:December 6, 2011
White shows through at stitching
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Quality, Durability
The chairs are extremely comfortable but the white from the upholstry shows through. I am waiting to see how they stand up over time from sitting in them, if the foam starts to sag. I bought 2 brown and 2 black chairs. Assembly was fairly easy. The brown seem to be finished better than the black making me think they were built in a different site. The black however had better back support even though they were the same design and had the same adjustable knob.
The brown drill holes were lined up better for assembling.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>