Printer

OfficeMax Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OfficeMax.

Broyhill Broyhill Big & Tall Traditional Executive Chair with Wood Accents

Executive chair with traditional styling that includes mahogany wood accents and dark brown leather which will complement any office space. It provides the look and feel of comfort and style with double layer cushions and padded arm rests.
Average Customer Rating:
3.835 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
124 out of 176(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Broyhill Big & Tall Traditional Executive Chair with Wood Accents
Review 1 for Broyhill Big & Tall Traditional Executive Chair with Wood Accents
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Size
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KristE
Location:Canton, OH
Uses:Work
Age:25-34
FEATURED REVIEW
Date:February 16, 2012
Excellent!
Pros: Quality, Functionality, Durability
I put this chair together by myself. The only time I needed help was lifting the seat part & placing it on the base. Considering that I am only 5'1", that is great! It was very simple to put together. I would recommend this chair to anyone who was shopping for one. The look of this chair is beautiful! I was pleasantly surprised when opening it. The website pictures do it no justice. I would definitely purchase this same chair again if I am in need of another one!
18 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Broyhill Big & Tall Traditional Executive Chair with Wood Accents
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OfficeMax Expert Reviewer
Location:naperville, il
FEATURED REVIEW
EXPERT REVIEW
Date:May 14, 2010
Comfort and quality for big and tall
Do you need a chair for the body of Johnny Depp or more like Brian Urlacher. If you are big and tall this great chair by Broyhill offers comfort, quality, and style and its built for everyday home and commercial use.
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
134 of 149 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Broyhill Big & Tall Traditional Executive Chair with Wood Accents
User Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Size
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sick chair
Location:St. Augustine, florida
Uses:Personal use
Age:55-64
Date:January 26, 2014
What leather?
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Quality, Durability, leather poor
I have owned this chair for 3+ years, and the so called "leather" is peeling apart at the handles, headrest and at the bottom. Shame, I thought the chair was comfortable. I have to now buy another.
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Broyhill Big & Tall Traditional Executive Chair with Wood Accents
User Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Size
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
KeithRG53
Location:Omaha, NE
Uses:Personal use
Age:45-54
Date:November 18, 2013
Yuck
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Durability
I had sat in this chair in the store and was at the time happy with the comfort. I also liked the Broyhill name as I considered it a sign a durability.
After barely 10 days of use, the seat part of the chair goes flat and it feels like I am sitting on a board. This is a similar problem with the previous 2 chairs I owned. I believe at this point, it is nearly impossible to find a chair that lasts and gives excellent seating support. I was also disappointed that Broyhill is actually a chair produced by True Innovations.
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Broyhill Big & Tall Traditional Executive Chair with Wood Accents
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Size
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CharlesHagen
Location:Two Rivers, WI
Uses:My own company
Age:45-54
Date:November 15, 2013
JUNK!
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Quality, Durability
I bought it. I am not overweight but the piston died in 4 weeks.
STAY AWAY FROM THIS ONE.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Broyhill Big & Tall Traditional Executive Chair with Wood Accents
User Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Size
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jennsmom
Location:New York State
Uses:Personal use
Date:October 7, 2013
Didn't Last Long
Cons: Quality, Durability, Functionality
Purchased this chair in the store in July 2012. The gas cylinder is no longer working properly, making the chair pretty much useless. It's a lot of money for one year's use and I certainly would never recommend it.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Broyhill Big & Tall Traditional Executive Chair with Wood Accents
User Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Size
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the Donald
Location:Corona, CA
Uses:My own company
Age:55-64
Date:August 2, 2013
Don't Waste Your Money!
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Quality, Durability, "leather" quality
This chair is not worth $299, not $249 not even $199.
I bought this chair in late December, 2010. The chair has slowly disintegrated. First the arms started flaking, then the seat has totally started flaking with big chunks out of the seat.. The chair is comfortable but not much to look at now.
Save your money and look for something else.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Broyhill Big & Tall Traditional Executive Chair with Wood Accents
User Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Size
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
rappidribbit
Location:Orlando, FL
Uses:Personal use
Age:45-54
Date:July 11, 2013
Not the best investment
Pros: Functionality, comfortable
Cons: Quality, Durability
This chair was given to me as a gift in November 2010. It is very comfortable and looks great. Recently (past 2 months) I have found the leather on armrests and seat bottom to be coming loose and torn.And I don't see any warranty information online here either. I had a Lane chair years ago made of microfiber and the arms wore out and the metal cracked after 18 months, but Lane supplied me with replacement arms free of charge. I should say I am a tall guy (6'5") but weigh less than 250#. I expect more from a chair at this price. Any help with warranty info?
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Broyhill Big & Tall Traditional Executive Chair with Wood Accents
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Size
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Floodedtimber
Location:City, State
Date:July 5, 2013
Broyhill Big & Tall Exec chair
Pros: lots of room
Cons: comfort
I am a fan of OfficeMax, but this chair is awful. I am being allowed to return it (I am within 30 days of purchase).
I am not a big and tall guy, I bought it becuase of the room it has as I can be in it for 8-12 hours a day.
Here is the bad part : there is a seam in the middle of the chair seat and after sitting on the chair for no longer than an hour you can feel it - after 8 hours it's uncomfortable to the point of having to shift constantly. Again i am not a tall guy so maybe it's just me but this is a very uncomfortable chair.
My last chair from OfficeMax was a Lane and it lasted 6 years befor it became uncomfortable.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Broyhill Big & Tall Traditional Executive Chair with Wood Accents
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Size
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happy retiree
Location:Pearland, TX
Uses:Personal use
Age:55-64
Date:July 1, 2013
Best chair I've found for the price!
Pros: Quality, Functionality
I tried this chair in the store and loved the look and comfort of it. It came up on sale and I purchased it immediately. So glad I did. It looks great with my desk and much more seat padding than other chairs I tried. I ordered another one for my Daughter as a gift. I know she's going to love it as well.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Broyhill Big & Tall Traditional Executive Chair with Wood Accents
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Size
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Devious01
Location:Dallas, TX
Uses:Work
Age:35-44
Date:June 23, 2013
Beautiful, but didn't stand the test of time
Pros: attractive
Cons: Quality, Functionality, Durability
I am a big guy and work from home 70% of the time and needed a comfortable, reliable and durable chair. Purchased this item and took it home, it worked great, no worries. Started to notice issues 8 months into ownership with the hydraulics....some days it would work, others not so much. A year later the hydraulics went out on the chair completely. I believe the product is comfortable and attractive, just not functional. There are plenty of options out there.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Broyhill Big & Tall Traditional Executive Chair with Wood Accents
User Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Size
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
his1987
Date:June 10, 2013
Chair will not last 3 years
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Quality, Durability
We bought this because of the Broyhill name. Don't be fooled. It is made by True Innovations. In the beginning, we loved this chair. It is ultra comfortable and roomy. But the leather is deteriorating badly. It hasn't even been 3 years yet since we bought it new at the store, and the leather is flaking off at the seams on the arms and seat. We are not heavy people. We do sit in it daily but it should not be in this condition already in such a short time. We are very disappointed and will not buy this product again.
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Broyhill Big & Tall Traditional Executive Chair with Wood Accents
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Size
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Big Man
Location:City, State
Uses:My own company
Age:45-54
Date:June 5, 2013
Great to look at but...
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Quality, Durability, piston defective
Like a lot of the other posters, I too found that this chair was not able to support my girth after a short time of owning it. I had to keep adjusting the height several times a day. In addition, the cushions went flat after about a month and I've had to resort to putting a pillow in the seat in order to be comfortable. Very easy to assemble but I would not recommend this chair to a friend... particularly one who is Big & Tall like me.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Broyhill Big & Tall Traditional Executive Chair with Wood Accents
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Size
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
chief29
Location:Mineral Wells, TX
Uses:Work
Age:55-64
Date:May 20, 2013
Great Chair, but...
Pros: very comfortable
Cons: lift mechanism went out first week of use
Chair was easy to assemble, but takes 2 people to do it. Chair is very comfortable and nicely fits the larger person. I would have given the chair an overall 5 stars, but the lift mechanism went out the first week in use. However, the company, when contacted, quickly sent a replacement lift mechanism, so all is well.
Review 15 for Broyhill Big & Tall Traditional Executive Chair with Wood Accents
User Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Size
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
timoca73
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
Uses:Work
Age:35-44
Date:May 17, 2013
Slip n Slide
Pros: Quality, Functionality
Cons: Durability
Great chair up until it starts slipping and I become a low rider. Have to keep pumping it up.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Broyhill Big & Tall Traditional Executive Chair with Wood Accents
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Size
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gumdrop
Location:City, State
Date:May 13, 2013
Pros: Quality, Functionality, Durability
Easy to assemble, no extra tools needed. Very Comfortable. Seems sturdy, but time will tell. So far the gas piston has supported my weight.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Broyhill Big & Tall Traditional Executive Chair with Wood Accents
User Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Size
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pharmer Joe
Location:Marked Tree, AR
Uses:My own company
Age:45-54
Date:May 6, 2013
Big chair cheaply made
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Quality
the chairs sits well and is comfortable but the arms are difficult to attach and do not stay tight. also plastic pieces on the legs come off as they are glued .
Review 18 for Broyhill Big & Tall Traditional Executive Chair with Wood Accents
User Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Size
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AmishRadio
Location:Cleveland OH
Uses:Personal use
Age:Over 65
Date:April 28, 2013
Approx. 2 years old and looking for a new chair!
Pros: nice looking
Cons: Quality, Functionality, Durability, even on sale not a good buy.
*NOT dark brown leather, but rather some kind of coating over what MAY BE leather.
*Wobbly arms need tightening every month or so. Annoying.
*PADDING IS TOO SKIMPY ... I need a pillow to help... Like sitting on a board.
*I like the chair higher, but the setting lasts a day or less and slowly sinks to the bottom setting. OfficeMax person said the cylinder(?) is probably bad ... NOT a fixit kind of guy & I don't need to learn chair repair.
All-in-all a nice looking chair, but for carefree use -- no way!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Broyhill Big & Tall Traditional Executive Chair with Wood Accents
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Size
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bigman
Location:Katy, Texas
Uses:Work
Age:55-64
Date:April 18, 2013
waste of money
Pros: looks
Cons: Quality, Durability
Like so many other reviewers I loved this chair when I got it. It looked good felt good and I was very happy, for a few months. Then the cylinder began to leak down. If they could manufacture a cylinder than would not leak they would have a great chair, as is it's a waist of money.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Broyhill Big & Tall Traditional Executive Chair with Wood Accents
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Size
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Urb1
Location:Orosi Calif.
Uses:Personal use
Age:55-64
Date:April 15, 2013
Not for my body
Cons: Functionality
I assembled and used this chair for about 1 week. It was very uncomfortable. It did not give me any kind of back support. The arm rests were located too far out to give me adequate support. It might be a good fit for a big man with a large rump but definitely not for me. I put it back in the box and bought a cheaper more comfortable chair.
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>