Printer

OfficeMax Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OfficeMax.

HP HP Pavilion a6700f Desktop PC – REFURBISHED

Powered by an Phenom X4 9150E Quad Core Processor , genuine Windows Vista Home Premium 64–bit edition, 4GB system memory, 500GB hard drive, SuperMulti DVD burner with LightScribe, wireless LAN. Computers will not be deliver to PR and U.S Virgin Islands.
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
15 out of 20(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP Pavilion a6700f Desktop PC – REFURBISHED
Review 1 for HP Pavilion a6700f Desktop PC – REFURBISHED
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Component Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dont buy it
Date:February 3, 2010
disaster
Bought this computer 11 months ago. Had multiple driver/video card issues from the start that I spent hours on the phone with HP service. Finally had to return to have the video card replaced. 4 months later the hard drive failed, lost everything. To add to the issues, HP sent me a new hard drive, but then charged me for it and I've been battling with their customer service department for weeks for a refund. Save yourself a lot of time, frustration and money and buy another brand. Never again.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion a6700f Desktop PC – REFURBISHED
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
swj0809
Location:Lakewood, CO
Uses:Personal use
Age:25-34
Date:January 26, 2010
Great buy!
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space, ram, startup time
Cons: webcam, microphone, windows vista
My wife and I have found this computer to meet all our needs. The performance is great, even with Vista. The only thing it is missing is a webcam and microphone.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion a6700f Desktop PC – REFURBISHED
User Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Component Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Michael2255
Location:30043
Uses:Work
Age:45-54
Date:January 19, 2010
Average computer for Average Price
Pros: Storage Space, expandability
Cons: processor speed
1800 quad core processor slower than a 2500 mhz duo core at same price. Quad core seems more a marketing ploy when there are few apps that utilize it. 64 bit bus avoids obsolescence for future computing but 32 bit likely to become obsolete well after this computer has.
Built in wireless has inartful execution by being an odd shaped dongle with a short cord. I presume it is underpowered otherwise they would have just stuck an antenna on the thing. Whining aside, it had no problem connecting (with three out of five bars) to a Belkin router one room away. It maintains connectivity and its drivers are apparently sound.
Sound card has nice features if you have extra speakers. Also, a USB VOIP device even worked on this computer under Windows 7 despite not working on another with Windows 7. I know that's a driver issue but still.
Keyboard has many features but in my opinion the feature keys are too close and similar to regular keys and this causes mis-strikes. Should probably use round or oval feature keys on the sides. Otherwise rectangular feature keys are fine if put at the top of a keyboard.
The motherboard itself is great. It has IDE and SATA connectivity, plenty of bays for adding DVD or other drives, 4 slots for RAM as well as PCI and PCIe slots.
One problem though, the BIOS was locked with a password so I had to remove the lithium ion battery, wait thirty seconds, replace and reboot so that I could get into the BIOS settings. This could be a big problem for folks not inclined to open up a computer or if unfamiliar with this "feature."
Included operating system was Vista 64 and it was a normal, lengthy upgrade to Windows 7 (x64) that arrived free in the mail.
500 Gig hard drive will never be filled. Plenty of USB ports and even a firewire if you have that connectivity issue.
I believe HP and Compaq are much better designed and implemented than Dell computers in the same class.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion a6700f Desktop PC – REFURBISHED
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Component Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Val79
Location:Tucson,AZ
Uses:Personal use
Age:45-54
Date:January 18, 2010
Computer
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space
Cons: memory
Very nice computer for the price, Easy shipping, had no issues with anything.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion a6700f Desktop PC – REFURBISHED
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wrongdog
Location:Gold Coast California
Uses:Personal use
Age:45-54
Date:January 18, 2010
Great deal!
Pros: Processing Speed
I rolled the dice and bought this refurbished and have no regrets. It came fast, great tracking etc. the packing was suspect (cheap) but it was all in tact. It fierd up fine except the wireless doesn't seem to work but I did not care since this will be my network hub computer and hard wired to the router. I was als eligible for the HP Windows 7 free upgrade. I held off on doing my data transfer until Windows 7 was installed. Installation went fine as did the data transfer by network Windows Easy Transfer.
Faster with Windows 7 and great for net searches and easy business apps - no gaming for me! I hope it stays fast - like all new computers, they start running fast and after a few years slow WAY down.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion a6700f Desktop PC – REFURBISHED
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Component Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
consumer
Uses:Personal use
Age:55-64
Date:January 5, 2010
be aware
Remember you are buying a used computer. Mine was first booted 8 months before I got it. Documentation was one quick start sheet that said essentially plug it in and turn it on. That would have worked if there had been a power cord. There is no power cord listed in what is included and I guess I was foolish to think there would be one in the box. But $10 and a trip to radio Shack took care of that, and the computer did start and runs fine so far (one day). Apparently I have the remainder of HP's one year warranty, but that's just my guess; there was nothing to tell me. No disasters yet, but I'd feel more comfortable if I'd spent just a little more and bought a brand new system.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion a6700f Desktop PC – REFURBISHED
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Component Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
milo57
Location:Hereford TX
Uses:Personal use
Age:Over 65
Date:January 4, 2010
Great purchase
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space, Screen Size
I needed a new computer with more memory for my grandson to play his games on. Had to be XP or Vista for all his games to work. Couldn't find a new one so I bought this refurbished one. Works great, no problems at all, and didn't cost a lot.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion a6700f Desktop PC – REFURBISHED
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Component Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Krissy24
Location:Apopka, FL
Uses:Personal use
Age:18-24
Date:December 15, 2009
Awesome for the money
Cons: not for extreme gaming
This was bought for my fiance to replace his 5 year old desktop. Its mainly used for minor video game playing, surfing the web and downloading music. We have had it for almost a month now and not one problem. Everything works amazingly.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion a6700f Desktop PC – REFURBISHED
User Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Component Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GopalC
Location:Agoura Hills, CA
Uses:Work
Age:35-44
Date:October 14, 2009
Value for money
Pros: Processing Speed
Cons: Screen Size, Storage Space
This is a complete system and is blindingly fast. The X3 Triple-Core processor means it features the latest B3 stepping technology and support for a 1.8GHz memory controller and HT 3.0 frequency with Dual Dynamic Power Management technology. It also has a L2 and L3 cache and performs extraordinarily well with multimedia.
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion a6700f Desktop PC – REFURBISHED
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Component Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Indians Fan
Location:Phoenix, Arizona
Uses:Personal use
Age:Over 65
Date:October 10, 2009
One of my favorite purchases
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space
This PC has surpassed my expectations as to quality, advanced speed, clarity, power, and overall performance. This product gives me much more memory and ease with the help line from customer support. It easily allows CD burning and photo transferring at a click on my keyboard. I have compared this product with my previous competitor's unit and rate this PC head and shoulders above.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion a6700f Desktop PC – REFURBISHED
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
boppy
Uses:Personal use
Age:45-54
Date:October 8, 2009
General purpose computer
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space, Screen Size
Great general purpose computer. If you want to use a computer for gaming you'll need more power and memory.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion a6700f Desktop PC – REFURBISHED
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Component Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
blpratt
Location:Lansing, MI
Age:25-34
Date:October 7, 2009
Quad Core
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space
Great PC for the money this is a Quad core that is going to be able to handle whatever they can throw at it for a while to come.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion a6700f Desktop PC – REFURBISHED
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brez
Date:October 6, 2009
Great Computer
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space, Screen Size
This HP Pavilion Desktop computer is everything I was looking for in easy and fast performance, and has all the memory storage capacity for a lot of my photos and music whenever I need it. This is a great computer for everyday needs and more!
Review 14 for HP Pavilion a6700f Desktop PC – REFURBISHED
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
deloris
Location:Johnson City, TN
Uses:Work
Age:45-54
Date:September 22, 2009
well worth the money
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space
this was an excellant purchase. It met all of our needs, will definitely purchase another one.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for HP Pavilion a6700f Desktop PC – REFURBISHED
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 4 out of 6
Features
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Performance
2.8 out of 5
2.8 out of 5
Component Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5