Printer

OfficeMax Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OfficeMax.

Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium Upgrade

The best entertainment experience on your PC. Windows 7 Home Premium makes it easy to create a home network and share all of your favorite photos, videos, and music.
Average Customer Rating:
4.632 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
17 out of 19(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Windows 7 Home Premium Upgrade
Review 1 for Windows 7 Home Premium Upgrade
User Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Installation
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pete K
Location:Ladera Ranch, CA
Uses:Personal use
Age:45-54
Date:November 1, 2010
Vista Users Beware
Cons: Load Time
Installing the Windows 7 Upgrade over Vista was a PAIN! My laptop is only 2-1/2 years old, and I had to update the BIOS before the update would install. Then, there are several programs that operate on Vista that are not compatible, or need to be uninstalled and reinstalled after installing Windows 7. iTunes is one such program that needed to be uninstalled and reinstalled. The installation took the longest time out of any install, almost 3 hours!
I've used Windows 7 for only a couple weeks now, so I don't recognize all its new features. The pinning of applications and documents to the task bar is a nice add. I haven't noticed anything else that is new at this point.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Windows 7 Home Premium Upgrade
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Larry1938
Location:Mramar Beach, Florida
Uses:Personal use
Age:55-64
Date:September 28, 2010
Good results
Pros: Operating System
Cons: Load Time
I upgraded from windows XP, although not liking the revolutionary conversion path the results has been good. I took me 6 hours to get to a ready state
Review 3 for Windows 7 Home Premium Upgrade
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SnackM
Location:City, State
Age:35-44
Date:September 14, 2010
Pros: Operating System, tv recording
This installs quickly and easily. It automatically installed drivers for all of my hardware.
Some of the interface elements are kind of annoying because you can't easily change or remove them. There are limitations to what Windows will let you pin to the Taskbar, the folder on the Taskbar points only to Libraries and the Homegroup link is glued to the Windows Explorer sidebar. You can find workarounds on the internet to change all of these things but it would be nice if there were native options.
I use it mainly for Windows Media Center. It has native support for QAM TV tuners that can record local cable channels (QAM tuning was a hassle to get working in Vista and even worse in XP). You can even have multiple tuners and tuners of different brands using multiple signal types. Tv setup is easy and recording is reliable. I recommend using a Media Center remote to navigate the Media Center interface.
Review 4 for Windows 7 Home Premium Upgrade
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TBone4
Location:City, State
Uses:My own company
Age:55-64
Date:April 12, 2010
Highly Recommend
Pros: Operating System, Price Point, worth taking the time to do it
Cons: have to back up first, a little time consuming
Very nice OS with tons of extras to make life easier and more fun. I love the new generation of software available now. It does so much more for you than the old software I've come to know so well. It has become so easy now.
Review 5 for Windows 7 Home Premium Upgrade
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PAC1
Location:Newport Beach, CA
Uses:Personal use
Age:35-44
Date:March 22, 2010
Glad I got it
I have Windows 7 on my laptop and like it and debated whether or not to upgrade my PC as well. Im glad I did. The updgrade was a simple step by step process and I took my time, backed up files and such, didnt want to lose anything just in case, and it went seamlessly. I do notice a faster start up and really like the icons on the tabs at the bottom that shows everything you have open. Like anything new, it took a little practice to get use to, but nothing frustrating, its business as usual now. The homegroup feature is also very useful for connecting my laptop and PC, and sharing information between them, sending things to my PC printer from my laptop wirelessly is also easier than ever. Nice upgrade overall!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Windows 7 Home Premium Upgrade
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hasse
Location:Packer Country
Uses:My own company
Age:Over 65
Date:March 15, 2010
Great upgrade from Vista
Pros: Operating System, Price Point
I was very happy with the results from this upgrade for our Gateway Laptop that came with Vista.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Windows 7 Home Premium Upgrade
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JessR2
Location:Richmond, VA
Uses:Personal use
Age:35-44
Date:November 30, 2009
Excellent upgrade
Pros: Operating System
So glad we purchased the upgrade for Windows 7. It is so much better than Vista. Easy enough to install and works great. Wish I could afford to upgrade all the computers I use...
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Windows 7 Home Premium Upgrade
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Installation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BigG
Location:sacramento, ca
Uses:Personal use
Age:Over 65
Date:November 16, 2009
excellent buy
Pros: Operating System, Price Point
Cons: Load Time
I am running the beta version Ultimate and this version is lacking bit locker which I use. the good thing is that though you can't encrypt new disk it will still unlock the ones you have encrypted.
Sleep work great and computer will awake with in seconds.
win tv works better than on any earlier version in fact it works great.
new hardware is found and installed easily without any disk involved. good for when you pick up something like I did a wireless keyboard but I plugged it in and windows 7 found all the drivesr it needed with out any help from me.
the thing I don't like is the single license.
Review 9 for Windows 7 Home Premium Upgrade
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Installation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
joreeyore
Uses:Personal use
Age:25-34
Date:November 15, 2009
Welcome changes to Windows
Pros: Operating System
The changes in Windows 7 appear minor visually when compared to Vista, but the reduced security warnings (when moving files etc.) and reduced desktop clutter is very much welcomed. Install was smooth.
Review 10 for Windows 7 Home Premium Upgrade
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Installation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
clcrisler
Location:Chandler, AZ
Date:November 9, 2009
Windows 7
Pros: Operating System, Price Point, it's not vista, problem step recorder
Cons: takes a little longer to boot (for me), still too many versions, graphics still aren't as slick as os x
Windows 7 is Microsoft's best version of Windows. So far, in my testing, it has performed almost flawlessly. As a Mac user, I'm happy to see MS finally challenge OS X. This is what keeps Apple from getting complacent. I haven't used all of the Win7 features but what I've used has worked great. Less overhead than Vista and I was able to install it on my Acer Netbook. With full Aero graphics. I highly recommend Win7 to anyone who currently has Vista and a PC that'll run it. The only thing I would recommend is doing a fresh install instead of an upgrade.
Review 11 for Windows 7 Home Premium Upgrade
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CB musician
Location:Peekskill, NY
Uses:Personal use
Age:55-64
Date:November 9, 2009
So far, Really Excellent Product
Pros: Number of Licenses, Operating System, Price Point
Cons: easier with vista
This product is really working well with my computer. It took longer than any other installation, but once completed, it was a dream. You do need Vista to upgrade, but it walks you through the steps if you have XP. I really like this product and recommend it to anyone who has Vista to upgrade to Windows 7.
Review 12 for Windows 7 Home Premium Upgrade
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Installation
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
Uses:Personal use
Age:45-54
Date:November 9, 2009
Wait
Pros: Price Point, stability, user interface
Cons: System Requirements, won't work with older peripherals, long install time if upgrading from xp
If you didn't pre-order, wait until installation issues have been solved for upgrades from XP. Mine took a 6 hour phone conversation with tech support in India because it hung up on the "starting windows" screen-for two hours. Turns out the OS was trying to write onto my 3GB of RAM instead of my hard disk. I had to remove all but 1 GB. My older graphics card caused additional hangs, but the Windows 7 compatability checker didn't tell me I could solve these with an update of the intel chipset beforehand. All it said was I wouldn't be able to use aero. 32 bit version still won't read more than 4 GB of RAM. I don't know if that is physically impossible or just an oversight.
If you have Vista and use the web-filter, don't switch if the want to continue using it. 7 has no-built in filter and doesn't link to any free imports. Instead it uses an IE based filter. I'm not sure if that even works if you use Mozilla or Opera.
My older HP all-in one psc2210 doesn't have a driver that works with windows 7. Check their website beforehand. I really miss that HP software and the new stuff that works through windows live doesn't let me move photos around on a page and/or adjust sizes before printing. It only offers standard print sizes.
With that said, the system is very stable once you get it up and running. Sound and graphics card errors were stashed under the white flag and didn't cause shut-downs, and the links to solutions worked to resolve both. Streamlined look with easier accessibility yet not so different as to cause confusion.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Windows 7 Home Premium Upgrade
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
toys
Location:Appleton, WI
Uses:Personal use
Age:25-34
Date:November 9, 2009
Windows 7 upgrade
Cons: number of licenses
The installation was very easy. Our computer is less than a year old, and upgrading to Windows 7 from Vista has made it start up faster and programs seem to open faster. I am happy I upgraded. I was disapointed to find out it is only good on one computer.
Review 14 for Windows 7 Home Premium Upgrade
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GlennF
Location:Corunna, MI
Uses:Personal use
Age:35-44
Date:October 26, 2009
I drank the KoolAid
Pros: performance
Cons: upgrade installation reliability, cost
I tried installing this upgrade on my computer, but there was something about my computer the upgrade didn't like, so it kept crashing. I did a "custom" install instead which gave me a wonderfully clean installation of Windows 7. This worked perfectly. In fact, it bundled up my old Windows installation for me and left it available so I could still access settings files and other content. My computer seems happier. It's running a bit better and the fresh installation got rid of a few odd bugs from Vista HP.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Windows 7 Home Premium Upgrade
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Aussie
Location:Hurst, TX
Uses:Personal use
Date:September 18, 2009
Make the move to Windows 7
Pros: Operating System, installation assistance, Features
Cons: need a good video card
I loaded a pre-release version of Windows 7 on my home computer this week. I expected to spend forever recording all the programs I had, moving data and restoring my settings. Windows 7 has utilities that do it ALL. It also moves everything back when you have upgraded the OS and restores all your settings.
If you have multiple Internet windows open you bring your mouse over the little icon on the bottom task bar and it shows you miniature views of each window.
Brilliant.
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Windows 7 Home Premium Upgrade
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mdixon4az
Uses:Personal use
Age:35-44
Date:September 18, 2009
Love this OS
I have been running Win7 since the public beta. I am now on the Release Candidate. Both have been very stable and a much better OS than XP or Vista. I didn't even bother with Vista but I plan on upgrading all three of my computers to this OS.
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Windows 7 Home Premium Upgrade
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3
Features
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5