Printer

OfficeMax Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

HP HP Pavilion dv7–3057nr Entertainment Notebook PC

The HP Pavilion dv7 series is defined by fluid, modern lines and surprising innovations inside and out. The black Espresso Imprint pattern complements the metallic finish. Illuminated, touch–sensitive media controls further enhance the notebook s elegant look and feel. Computers will not be deliver to PR and U.S Virgin Islands.
Average Customer Rating:
4.853 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
34 out of 34(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP Pavilion dv7–3057nr Entertainment Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP Pavilion dv7–3057nr Entertainment Notebook PC
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mollyd
Location:City, State
Date:April 5, 2010
So far so good
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space, Screen Size
Cons: portability, track pad
I have been using the new Pavilion dv7 for a couple of weeks so far and find most everything to be to my liking. It is large in size so if you are looking for something to carry with you a big share of the time this may not be the model for you. I am using this as a replacement for a desktop and wanted the larger screen so was willing to give up a bit of portability. I like the fact that I can take it with me when necessary but it is a bit large and heavier than many models. My only disappointment is in the trackpad. After using and making adjustments to the settings for a couple of weeks I went to using a mouse. I don't know how it compares to trackpads on other PC's as my other trackpad is on a Mac, which I really like. So maybe the dislike is just a matter of getting used to it.
Over all the size is a Pro for me but may be a con for some.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion dv7–3057nr Entertainment Notebook PC
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
realpro
Date:March 8, 2010
great value
Pros: Storage Space, Screen Size
Cons: no latch for screen
Moving from a Vista 32 bit on a different laptop to W7 64 bit on this HP was nearly painless. At this point, boot & shutdown times are much faster. The screen is impressive, everything works. I wish it had the firewire connection (available on other variants of this model). Speed is fine, but not cutting edge -- I knew that before I bought it, so it is not a surprise, but a note. While there were some apps that had problems (freeware firewall & AV), it is a matter of them fixing the code for W7, not a fault of the hardware. Only complaint is to do with the way it opens -- since there is no latch, the spring for the screen had to be a lot stronger, you need two hands to open - one to hold the bottom, one to pry the top open. Since the screen is big, you must do that pretty much at the center of the laptop lip -- at the edge it feels like the screen may crack.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion dv7–3057nr Entertainment Notebook PC
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Component Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Kuross
Location:Aiken, SC
Uses:Personal use
Date:February 21, 2010
Recent purchase
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space, Screen Size
My previous HP laptop which I paid $1200 for about two years ago crashed and I was told by HP that it was not worth fixing. I hope this new purchase does not follow the same pattern,........... time will tell.
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion dv7–3057nr Entertainment Notebook PC
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scuterd00d
Location:Medford, WI
Uses:School - I'm a Student
Age:35-44
Date:February 9, 2010
more features for less money
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space, Screen Size, keyboard layout, available usb ports, dual headphone jacks, easy connectivity to wireless network and printer
Cons: fingerprints and smudges are inevitable, it can be hard to find a laptop bag large enough
This unit is now far and away the most popular laptop on my campus. Since my purchase, 4 others have purchased the same or similar models. I really enjoy the large, clear viewing area, the processing speed, the storage space, and the ability to hook it up to a tv using an HDMI cable for sharing photos and videos with others. I would and have recommended this laptop to friends and strangers at the campus, and will continue to do so.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion dv7–3057nr Entertainment Notebook PC
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kary
Date:February 8, 2010
Best Purchase Ever
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space, Screen Size
This was the first purchase on my own of a laptop. Great size and fast processor. I would buy again if have the opportunity. HP is the best!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion dv7–3057nr Entertainment Notebook PC
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jacque
Location:Boynton Beach, Florida
Uses:School - I'm a Teacher/Administrator
Age:55-64
Date:February 8, 2010
Fantastkc resolution and computer
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space, Screen Size
Large 17.3" screen, rsolution is fantastic, I bought two of these within 2 weeks of each other. Easy to follow directions. Wireless is a little difficult to set up but worth the fight!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion dv7–3057nr Entertainment Notebook PC
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Masterson
Date:January 25, 2010
Nice but Keys come off easily
It is a very nice, fast, quiet computer. I have had no problems with anything other than the keys popping off.
I use the laptop everyday for business purpose and I have already had two different keys pop off. I was able to get them back on but it took a while.
I have never had that happen to me before on any other computer so it concerns me a bit.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion dv7–3057nr Entertainment Notebook PC
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RayCinCPNY
Location:Clifton Park, NY
Uses:Personal use
Age:45-54
Date:January 21, 2010
Excellent Laptop
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space, Screen Size, keypad button size, ms windows 7 - 64 bit, quality design and layout, it's hp!
Cons: didn't come with a mouse, it wasn't free ;-)
Got this for the Mrs. for her B' Day because it was a deal I couldn't refuse. The Altec Lansing speakers don't sound bad at all for laptop speakers. The laptop has an e-SATA/USB port, 3 - USB ports, VGA port, HDMI port, card reader, DVD burner w/LightScribe, and an add-on port. We paid $569.99 with free shipping for all these features and more... 500 GB hard drive, 4 GB RAM, b/g/n WLAN (I just bought an N+ wireless router, also from OfficeMax), and much more. The WLAN was a breeze to set up... less than 10 minutes. Windows 7 is SUCH an improvement over Vista. The LCD screen quality is silky smooth and a pleasure to view. It even looks nice (not that, that should be a condition of purchase), and I have had very good luck with HP computers (laptops and desktops). I also bought a Targus USB/Bluetooth dongle so our cells and PDA's could synch up. I would definitely recommend this laptop to friends and neighbors.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion dv7–3057nr Entertainment Notebook PC
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mathnut
Date:January 21, 2010
Nice PC
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space, Screen Size, great price
This computer is lighter than my old Dell laptop. It also seems to run cooler than the older computer. I like the separate numeric keypad - works well for accounting and spreadsheet data entry. I also really like the wide screen, because I can view multiple windows at the same time - great for multi-taskers.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion dv7–3057nr Entertainment Notebook PC
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
caswinpow
Location:Portland Oregon
Uses:School - I'm a Student
Age:35-44
Date:January 19, 2010
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space, Screen Size
This computer was purchased so I could go to school. 20 years later! This is a fabulous tool, completely reliable, and wonderful. I love Windows 7 so much better than Vista. The screen is nice and big, and very clear. There are plenty of ports. Everything runs nicely, very fast with all the ram. Lots of space too.
Zero complaints. I also thank Office Max for having it on sale. We shopped around for a while, saw many that were almost $1300 at some stores for the same product! This was an awesome deal, and makes my school life so much easier.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion dv7–3057nr Entertainment Notebook PC
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BB1968
Location:Charleston, SC
Uses:Personal use
Age:35-44
Date:January 19, 2010
HP Pavilion dv7–3057nr Entertainment Notebook PC
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space, Screen Size
Cons: no cons
Solid laptop, great price (holiday special). Runs quiet and stays cool (unlike my other HP laptop). Windows 7 is decent, I am still getting used to it - really enjoy the sticky notes. I would reccoment this laptop to others.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion dv7–3057nr Entertainment Notebook PC
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nathat
Date:January 19, 2010
excellent buy
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space, Screen Size
This has been an excellent choice. The price was great for what I received. I wanted a larger screen with a good quality picture and good speed for a reasonable price. I received all that plus more and have not seen a better price yet.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion dv7–3057nr Entertainment Notebook PC
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vee52
Location:San Antonio, Texas
Uses:Work
Age:45-54
Date:January 19, 2010
work and play
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space, Screen Size, right number panel
Cons: Screen Size, fingerprints are very visable on top cover
I am very happy with my new computer. I use it for work and for play. The size is a bit large, and maybe a little difficult to carry, but I would rather put up with that and have the large screen. I like that the number panel is to the right. For work I use numbers a lot and it makes it so much easier to use when I don't have to "hunt and peck" at the top for them. Windows 7 will take some getting used to, it is quite different, but I think there is a lot of improvement.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion dv7–3057nr Entertainment Notebook PC
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Component Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Darrellj35
Location:Columbus, OH
Uses:My own company
Age:35-44
Date:January 19, 2010
Great purchase,
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space, Screen Size
I overall happy with the computer, the only exception is it rips music a lot slower than expected. But besides that I'm happy with it.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion dv7–3057nr Entertainment Notebook PC
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fdooleysr
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Uses:Personal use
Age:Over 65
Date:January 18, 2010
HP Pavilion dv7-3057nr Entertainment Notebook PC
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space, Screen Size
Cons: needs a lighted kekyboard.
I highly recommend this laptop computer for anyone desiring a large screen, and fast response. It was quick and easy to setup. Everything seemed to be programmed with a wizard that allowed me to choose my internet, printer, and mouse. The keyboard seems to be very sensitive but I got used to it very quickly. I was also able to transfer my favorites, e-mail addresses, pictures and other documents from my old laptop to this one. I'm very pleased with it and I got it on sale for $599 through the officemax web site. My old laptop had a fried motheboard and it would have cost me almost $475 to have it replaced. Purchasing a new laptop with Windows 7, and a new waranty was a bargain.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion dv7–3057nr Entertainment Notebook PC
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LuckyChance
Uses:School - I'm a Student
Age:25-34
Date:January 18, 2010
Great...with a Caveat
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space, Screen Size
Cons: lack of upgrade options
The product is great at a great price ($599.99 when I purchased it). Honestly I'm not too savvy on hardware. I asked my computer science (webpage design) buddy to compare and contrast the units I was considering. Of course he pointed out that this would not be a video rendering machine but he agreed that it was a great price for a good machine. The machine suits my needs (student...but I don't lug this 17" laptop around school...it stays home).
The only point of contention I have with it is the erroneous advertisement on HP's part that the RAM is upgradeable to 8gb. HP doesn't even make 4gb RAM (to achieve 8gb it would be 4gb x 2) and doesn't support any other manufacturer's 4gb memory (HP hasn't released a BIOS that supports 4gb sticks yet). So...don't advertise something that isn't currently possible.
Overall however, I'm very pleased and feel I purchased a great machine at a great price.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion dv7–3057nr Entertainment Notebook PC
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Component Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Doug B
Location:Albany, NY
Uses:Personal use
Age:45-54
Date:January 18, 2010
Excellent laptop for the price!
Pros: Storage Space, Screen Size, price
Cons: Processing
Great product at a great price! Display is beautiful. All the bells and whistles.
2 Minor gripes:
1. Not as speedy as I expected given the build specs.
2. Shows fingerprints and smudges like a little kid is using it.
Review 18 for HP Pavilion dv7–3057nr Entertainment Notebook PC
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mountain man
Location:Saint Joseph, Missouri
Uses:Personal use
Age:45-54
Date:January 18, 2010
Great machine but lack software
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space, Screen Size
Cons: some software (30 day trials etc)
The laptop itself is a great computer but i was extremely disappointed in the lack of PERMANENT software. It is loaded with trial offers for Noton security, Office Works, and all the better games. It doesn't even have a permanent e-mail lancher. You have to buy the MS Works Package to get the Outlook for your E-mail. The sales pitch was lacking in these details and lead you to believe that the computer had all of these thing with it but they turned out to be only trail offers. Had i known that i would have purchased a slightly higher pricesd unit that included the permanaent software.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Pavilion dv7–3057nr Entertainment Notebook PC
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mtnlaurel
Location:SW VA
Uses:School - I'm a Student
Date:December 30, 2009
HP dv73057nr great buy!
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space, Screen Size, easy setup
Cons: have to share
Have run XP Pro on a desktop for a long time, troublefree. Due to Vista issues on a different desktop, thought I wouldn't like Windows 7, but this has been great. Bought this for son's college classes and some of my work.So far, so good. Great value for the price.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Pavilion dv7–3057nr Entertainment Notebook PC
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ferrari
Location:Boise, ID
Uses:Personal use
Age:25-34
Date:December 30, 2009
Love this Computer!
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space, Screen Size
Bought this so that I could replace my older desktop and absolutely love it! My husband is even a little jealous that I have such a nice computer!
1 2 next>>