Printer

OfficeMax Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Hitachi Hitachi 3.5" Life Studio 1TB Desk External Hard Drive

Rediscover your life's greatest moments with Lifestudio Mobile. It seamlessly pulls your photos, movies, music, and documents together into one stunning 3D interface so they're automatically organized and easier to access, view, and post to Facebook, Flickr Picasa.
Average Customer Rating:
3.727 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
8 out of 11(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hitachi 3.5" Life Studio 1TB Desk External Hard Drive
Review 1 for Hitachi 3.5" Life Studio 1TB Desk External Hard Drive
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OfficeMax Expert Reviewer
Location:naperville, il
FEATURED REVIEW
EXPERT REVIEW
Date:July 30, 2010
Hitachi LifeStudio series Drives
Hitachi new Life Studio External Hard Drives and Mobile allow you to be better organized with easier to access, view, and post photos, videos, music and documents from your computer. They come in a variety of capacities and styles to meet your personal needs.
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
7 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hitachi 3.5" Life Studio 1TB Desk External Hard Drive
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nick C
Location:Lehi UT
Uses:Personal use
Age:17 or younger
Date:February 21, 2011
Love this product and got it on sell
Pros: Size, love backing up my data easily
Cons: downloader keeps popping up
It was worth it accept when you load it it keeps showing software downaloader on the my computer bit doesn't bother me alot Love it and you need it to back up data encase your computer looses and than its gone its worth backing up your data on here Love it this product
Review 3 for Hitachi 3.5" Life Studio 1TB Desk External Hard Drive
User Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
J1222
Location:OH
Uses:Personal use
Age:55-64
Date:February 8, 2011
Hitachi External HD
Cons: Features, life studio software
I only wanted an external hard drive to back up my files before a reformat. The Life Studio software that comes attached to this drive is invasive & slowed my computer to a crawl while it tried to load. Every time I rebooted, I had to install the program again. I finally found a way to disable it. The hard drive is ok, but the software is unuseable.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hitachi 3.5" Life Studio 1TB Desk External Hard Drive
User Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Honey Bear
Location:York, PA
Uses:Personal use
Age:Over 65
Date:January 14, 2011
Disappointment
Cons: lacks sufficient documentation, no tutorial, needs broadband internet connection
Loading the software from the external drive and downloading the updates have been unreasonabily difficult. All I wanted was a backup device. I should have purchased the Clickfree C2 1TB. Instead for the price, I believed the Life Studio was a better deal because of the additional files management software. Not so! I didn't realize that a broadband internet connection would be required for operation. Here's hoping that Hitachi technical service will get this problem straightened out. Is it too late to return this device for a refund?
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hitachi 3.5" Life Studio 1TB Desk External Hard Drive
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NetworkAdmin
Location:rochester, ny
Uses:Personal use
Age:18-24
Date:December 13, 2010
Pros: Size, Dependability, Features
Honestly I think this product was amazing. I found nothing wrong with it technically and I've had this product for about a month now. I totally recommend this product to everyone :D
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hitachi 3.5" Life Studio 1TB Desk External Hard Drive
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ctcart
Location:City, State
Date:December 6, 2010
This item was bought as a Christmas gift. All I can say at this time is that the item was delivered in the time frame stated.
0 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hitachi 3.5" Life Studio 1TB Desk External Hard Drive
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A2dh
Location:City, State
Uses:Personal use
Age:55-64
Date:September 16, 2010
Not Recommended
Pros: Size
Cons: Features, no manual of any kind.
I just purchased this from the local OfficeMax store. The price was great but the product is bad.
There is no manual in the box, on the drive nor at the lifestudio web site. There is no power button. The drive is always on. The only help is a very brief FAQ section on the web site. The software installs and causes a Windows error whenever the unit is active. ("ffmpeg.exe has stopped working"). Instead of saving time you spend a lot of time dealing with errors and lack of help and lack of instructions.
14 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hitachi 3.5" Life Studio 1TB Desk External Hard Drive
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MrTVguy7
Location:CA
Uses:Personal use
Age:Over 65
Date:August 2, 2010
Great addition.
Pros: Dependability, Features, looks
Cons: none
This is the 1st time I've purchased a external storage unit that is not a LaCie. I am really happy with the Hitachi 3.5 Life Studio drive.
Review 9 for Hitachi 3.5" Life Studio 1TB Desk External Hard Drive
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
josephi
Location:Advance, NC
Uses:My own company
Age:55-64
Date:August 2, 2010
Hitachi Life - 1TB Ext. Hard Drive
Pros: Size, Dependability, Features
I ordered 2 of these and 1 had been opened so I returned it with no problems to the brick & mortar. The other is up and running just fine on my MAC PC Notebook. I'd recommend this drive to anyone who has a lot of pics, films, etc to backup.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Hitachi 3.5" Life Studio 1TB Desk External Hard Drive
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5