Printer

OfficeMax Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Brother Brother MFC7860DW Compact Laser All–in–One with Wireless Networking and Duplex

The MFC–7860DW is a laser all–in–one with wireless networking and automatic duplex ideal for small offices or home offices. It combines fast monochrome printing and copying at up to 27ppm, as well as color scanning and faxing.
Average Customer Rating:
3.965 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
153 out of 198(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brother MFC7860DW Compact Laser All–in–One with Wireless Networking and Duplex
Review 1 for Brother MFC7860DW Compact Laser All–in–One with Wireless Networking and Duplex
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Speed
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thomas Paine
Location:City, State
Date:February 17, 2014
Very Good All in One
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
Cons: Set up
This replaced an older brother machine. It does take about 30-45 mins to set-up (as per all the other reviews), but then works well wirelessly. Brother machines scan thru very quickly and then fax or print (if you're copying) as opposed to other brands which do 1 page at a time. Slight lag before printing (as with all wireless printers).
Toner cartridges are amongst the cheapest out there - use the high-capacity TN-450.
Review 2 for Brother MFC7860DW Compact Laser All–in–One with Wireless Networking and Duplex
User Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Print Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Easy to Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Speed
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ricostar
Location:Arlington, VA
Uses:Personal use
Age:55-64
Date:September 3, 2013
Okay Printer
Pros: Features
Cons: Set up
I mainly bought the printer for my iPad. It was not easy like the Canon, which I had to return, to wireless print. I had to call Brother and go through name, rank and serial number to get any information! I was then transferred to an Indian lady and had to go through part of the same thing again. If the information she is going to email me to download does not work, I am returning the printer! I don't like to pay big money and have to go through a big hassle. At least this printer is a little faster than the one I had. I prefer the Epson printers, but they have been downgraded over the years.
Review 3 for Brother MFC7860DW Compact Laser All–in–One with Wireless Networking and Duplex
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sillerud
Location:Balaton MN
Uses:Work
Age:Over 65
Date:August 5, 2013
Works well
Pros: Features
Cons: Set up
Installation was an issue as it stopped part way and then we deleted it and reloaded. Works well. I like the scan of several pages option.
Review 4 for Brother MFC7860DW Compact Laser All–in–One with Wireless Networking and Duplex
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dafaaz
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Uses:Personal use
Age:35-44
Date:May 6, 2013
Excellent Printer
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
This printer was so easy to set up. The print quality is awesome.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brother MFC7860DW Compact Laser All–in–One with Wireless Networking and Duplex
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Print Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Easy to Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Speed
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Yellie
Location:Twin Lakes, WI
Uses:My own company
Age:25-34
Date:March 4, 2013
Horrible printer
Cons: Does Not Meet Expectations
My business has used brother products before and never had a problem. We purchased this printer and have gone through 4 of them. All had the same recurring problems. The paper tray is full with paper and it keeps telling us the tray is empty. Every time we change the toner it prints large black blotches all over the paper and then says replace the toner. with toner being $100 a cartridge its become a very pricey printer. We clean the printer weekly as it is used for a business and take good care of all our equipment. This is by far the worst printer brother has made.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brother MFC7860DW Compact Laser All–in–One with Wireless Networking and Duplex
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WorldTraveler
Location:Dallas, TX
Uses:My own company
Age:35-44
Date:November 12, 2012
Excellent Value
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
Bought this printer and paid 249$ for it. To me it represents an excellent value over THIRSTY Ink jet printers. It comes with a standard toner cartridge. I recommend buying the larger toner. The printer warms up fast (5-10seconds) and the wireless feature is an easy setup. For wireless setup, you'll need a USB cable, then once finished, you leave it unplugged. So dont throw away your inkjet cable, it will probably fit this fine. It prints very fast and the quality between toner save mode and normal is hardly visible. The best thing with this printer is the money you'll save by refilling your own toner cartridges. Visit you tube and they post videos showing you how to refill the toner unit. GOODBYE inkjet!
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brother MFC7860DW Compact Laser All–in–One with Wireless Networking and Duplex
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dusky
Location:City, State
Uses:Personal use
Age:55-64
Date:September 17, 2012
Very satisfied
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features, love the wireless feature and the ease of set up.
Bought for a home office. Very fast, easy to set up. I might buy another for my business.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brother MFC7860DW Compact Laser All–in–One with Wireless Networking and Duplex
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hlittman2
Location:City, State
Uses:My own company
Age:55-64
Date:August 6, 2012
Best printer I've ever owned!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
This is the best printer/fax I have ever owned. I use it for a small business. It's fabulous. East to use and set up.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brother MFC7860DW Compact Laser All–in–One with Wireless Networking and Duplex
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Rosarp
Location:City, State
Date:August 3, 2012
Terrible!
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Does Not Meet Expectations, drum and toner $$$$$
Always trusted Brother and used to love the company but now I feel that they are advertising devices at great prices to get you with the drums and the toners an trust me they will. Toner yields about half of what they claim when you call the company they always blame you. The drums are a complete waste of money costing about $160 and having to be replace as much as the toners, that is every 2 weeks. RIDICULOUS! DO NOT BUY THIS PRINTER YOU WILL PAY A LOT IN TONER AND DRUM.
4 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brother MFC7860DW Compact Laser All–in–One with Wireless Networking and Duplex
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Print Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Easy to Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Speed
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
FAlves
Location:City, State
Uses:My own company
Age:55-64
Date:May 16, 2012
brother 7860DW
Cons: Does Not Meet Expectations, Set up, wireless does not work
If you want to buy for the wireless, forget it, does'nt work and Brother support are like sargent drill when talking to you. So, a month now and no wireless. I do not recomend
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brother MFC7860DW Compact Laser All–in–One with Wireless Networking and Duplex
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RascallyOne
Location:Chicago, Il
Uses:School - I'm a Student
Age:35-44
Date:May 7, 2012
Makes you look technically savvy!
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features, sleep mode/powersave
Cons: black shows dust, energy hog at startup
We have had the 7420 for years and it was time for a new printer so we bought this one. The software upgrade is well worth a new investment into Brother. Everything is effortless when it comes to scanning and emailing docs compared to the old software. The wireless set up was a little cumbersome (not as simple as setting up a wii) but it was still fairly simple.
Review 12 for Brother MFC7860DW Compact Laser All–in–One with Wireless Networking and Duplex
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
all thumbs
Location:Palm Desert CA
Uses:Personal use
Age:55-64
Date:March 1, 2012
Excellent MFC
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations
Set wireless up easily, much better than the HP I bought last year, which I gave up on. This actually worked as advertised! And, it gives high quality printing.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brother MFC7860DW Compact Laser All–in–One with Wireless Networking and Duplex
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Cortland, NE
Uses:Work
Age:45-54
Date:February 20, 2012
Best Ever
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
Small rural church use. It is awesome. So much faster than other copiers. It duplexes! It's wireless! The price was great! We are very happy with the product and would highly recommend it!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brother MFC7860DW Compact Laser All–in–One with Wireless Networking and Duplex
User Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Print Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Easy to Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Speed
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
johntnm
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Uses:Work
Age:55-64
Date:January 30, 2012
Brother MFC860DW
Cons: Set up
I like the new machine and not too easy to set up, really needed the manual. I would have purchased the extended protection plan but it was not offered.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brother MFC7860DW Compact Laser All–in–One with Wireless Networking and Duplex
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Micahs Mom
Location:San Francisco, CA
Uses:My own company
Date:January 26, 2012
Excellent Printer
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, wireless!, excellent price
This is a terrific printer for the price. Its features are easy to access, although depending on your modem/router, the wireless may need some tweaking when you set it up. My router had an incompatible setting which I had to change). Contrary to what another reviewer has written, I have no problem scanning documents directly to PDF, and automatically saving them to the folder of my choice. It simply has to be set up with the control center software that comes with the product.Print quality is excellent as is scan quality. I've had several Brother printers and I expect this one to be as reliable as all the others have been.
Review 16 for Brother MFC7860DW Compact Laser All–in–One with Wireless Networking and Duplex
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
weeziebrown
Location:Boulder, CO
Uses:Work
Age:Over 65
Date:January 11, 2012
All-in-One printer
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
I'm very happy with this purchase. The footprint is fairly small.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brother MFC7860DW Compact Laser All–in–One with Wireless Networking and Duplex
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Broncorex1
Location:Denver, CO
Uses:Work
Age:55-64
Date:January 10, 2012
Great Purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
Had to down load driver to get wirless printing to work properly. Driver that came with it did not work. Not it works great and is relatively quite. It uses a Tn-450 carterage. Refilled carterages are available on amazon.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brother MFC7860DW Compact Laser All–in–One with Wireless Networking and Duplex
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bigbearmom
Location:Big Bear Lake, CA
Uses:My own company
Age:Over 65
Date:November 7, 2011
Great Laser All-in-One
Pros: Meets Expectations, Features, Size
Cons: Set up
Our computer tech said he was going to look into getting this All-in-One, he was so impressed by its size and features combined with the lowest price that we got at Office Max.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brother MFC7860DW Compact Laser All–in–One with Wireless Networking and Duplex
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dimensions2001
Location:City, State
Date:June 4, 2011
Great Printer
Pros: Features
Cons: software
Great printer. I am not crazy about the software. It will not scan directly to Pdf flie. I have to use another software to convert. Also, the printer is noisy until it goes in sleep mode.
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brother MFC7860DW Compact Laser All–in–One with Wireless Networking and Duplex
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chang1405
Location:San Marino, CA
Uses:My own company
Age:45-54
Date:May 23, 2011
A great buy
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features, very little noise
Quick first page printing, fast scan, good print quality, east setup, and low noise. It's a great buy.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Brother MFC7860DW Compact Laser All–in–One with Wireless Networking and Duplex
Based on the average of (178) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 137 out of 178
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Speed
4 out of 5
4 out of 5