Printer

OfficeMax Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother Brother MFC–J430W Inkjet All–in–One

The Brother MFC–J430W is an easy to use all–in–one that allows you to print, copy, scan, and fax. Unattended fax, copy and scan up to 20–page documents using the automatic document feeder. The 1.9" color LCD display is perfect for easy menu navigation. Fast print speeds of 33 ppm black/26 ppm color (Fast mode); ISO standard 10 ppm black / 8ppm color (ISO/IEC 27434).
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
318 out of 377(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brother MFC–J430W Inkjet All–in–One
Review 1 for Brother MFC–J430W Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jhc1
Location:Sandy Springs, Ga
Uses:Personal use
Age:Over 65
Date:August 26, 2013
excellent
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
This is an excellent printer at a great price ( $49.99) on sale.
The Wi-Fi works perfectly, the printing in both grey scale and color is clean and clear. I haven't used it long enough to know how the ink usage will be but so far so good.
Review 2 for Brother MFC–J430W Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CTA7
Location:Anaheim Hills, California
Uses:Personal use
Age:45-54
Date:August 14, 2013
Great Home Printer
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations
Cons: Set up
This printer is a good home printer for the money. A little difficult to set-up but once everything is done it works just fine.
Review 3 for Brother MFC–J430W Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Roger B
Location:Upland, CA
Uses:My own company
Age:55-64
Date:August 8, 2013
Great Printer
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features, low low ink cost
On average we send one or more customers a day to buy this great Brother printer. Dozens of our customers have raved about what a great printer this is. We recommend it because of its low ink cost and reliability. Former Lexmark, Epson, Dell, HP and Canon owners tell us that when coupled with our ink this is the best printer for the money they have ever owned.
Ink & Toner Outlet, Upland, CA
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brother MFC–J430W Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Speed
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MimiC
Location:Bethel, CT
Uses:Personal use
Age:45-54
Date:July 29, 2013
Brother MFC-J430W
Pros: Meets Expectations, quiet
Cons: Set up, difficult to understand fax setup
I really like how quiet this printer is. The only problem I have is that the ink always is adjusting. After every page I print the printer goes through all these noises which I can only assume is the ink shifting into place. Otherwise, I am very happy and glad that I decided on this printer.
Review 5 for Brother MFC–J430W Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Speed
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BeenThereDoneThat
Location:City, State
Uses:Personal use
Age:55-64
Date:June 24, 2013
Prints and scans well, but....
Pros: moderate price
Cons: Set up
I am a computer professional and find the setup to be complex and the documentation to be poorly organized and difficult to use. I feel for the average user.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brother MFC–J430W Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ggeeman
Location:Houston, TX
Uses:Personal use
Age:Over 65
Date:June 11, 2013
Easy and Convenient
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
This printer was purchased for a Lake house so we could use it using WIFI for the IPAD and smartphones. It was very inexpensive, easy to set up, very good quality prints and was extremely convenient for the wireless devices mentioned above. I would recommend without reservations.
Review 7 for Brother MFC–J430W Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaberikNY
Location:Cortlandt Manor, NY
Uses:Personal use
Age:35-44
Date:June 10, 2013
Fast Scanning with Automatic Document Feeder
Pros: Easy to Use
The inktanks on my seven year old Canon Inkjet were running out. Replacing all four tanks typically costs upwards of $50.
For the price of these inktanks, I realized I could buy a brand new multifunction printer with Scan and Fax capabilities.
This is the first Brother product I've purchased since one of the electric typewriters/wordprocessors from the early 1990s.
So far so good.
Automatic document feeder for scan works like a charm. Copier is amazing too. Nice to have a "Xerox" machine on your desk. Being able to make quick copies of documents without having to power on a PC or fire up software is a great timesaver.
At the OfficeMax price for this product, you really can't go wrong.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brother MFC–J430W Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Larry D
Uses:Personal use
Age:45-54
Date:June 10, 2013
Fast printing, easy setup
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
Cons: a little flimsy
I purchased this online because of the low price. I don't do a lot of printing at home so I don't need anything heavy duty. It was very easy to set up the wireless. All the family's laptops are able to print to it. The speed and print quality are great. I've only had it a few weeks so I can't speak about how well it will hold up over time. It feels a little flimsy so I wouldn't recommend it for a lot of printing. But for my home office needs it seems to be a good fit so far.
Review 9 for Brother MFC–J430W Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Wellsboro, PA
Uses:Personal use
Age:35-44
Date:June 1, 2013
Great inexpensive printer for general use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
After 3 months I have absolutely no complaints about this all in one printer! I cannont understand why there were negative reviews other than the fact that there will always be one or two devices that end up having a problem when it comes to electronics.
This printer was inepensive and has met all of my needs. I would not hesitate to purchase again or recommend to a friend.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brother MFC–J430W Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Print Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Easy to Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Speed
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
slshome
Location:City, State
Uses:My own company
Date:May 29, 2013
Print Head Issues
Cons: Does Not Meet Expectations
After 5 months of use, the print quality suddenly changed. After multiple cleanings and over an hour on the phone with customer service they agreed to replace it with a remanufactured unit. However, the replacement has the same quality issue with the black ink, and I am still dealing with customer service. I had another Brother All-in-One machine for 4 years, never had an issue except the paper feed mechanism was wearing out. This machine uses a lot more ink (99% of the time I use lowest quality ink-saver print settings), and I have gone through one whole set of ink doing the cleanings. Aside from that, it was easy to set up and it does work well on wireless and fax. The scanner quality is just average. But based on the printing quality issue I cannot recommend.
Review 11 for Brother MFC–J430W Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Namobo
Location:Silver Spring, MD
Uses:Personal use
Date:May 13, 2013
Brother Printer is tops
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
Up and running in a few miinutes; wifi working within minutes. Great quality; promises lower cost ink (yet to be seen). Very satisfactory purchase.
Review 12 for Brother MFC–J430W Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
shan19
Location:Houston, Tx
Uses:Personal use
Age:25-34
Date:May 13, 2013
awesome product
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations
I chose to purchase this printer because ink is a lot cheaper than other brands. Setting up wireless connection was very easy. Printing jobs are awesome with docs, pictures not too good because of visible lines. Does not have usb or memory card slot but it's not a big deal. Replacing ink cartridges is also very easy. Great purchase all in all!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brother MFC–J430W Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PDX Office
Location:City, State
Date:May 13, 2013
Solid printer
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, value
Easy setup, good software and OK print quality. Great value
Review 14 for Brother MFC–J430W Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TJ71107
Location:St. Louis, MO
Uses:Work
Age:45-54
Date:May 13, 2013
Great Printer
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
For the price this printer is a big surprise! You won't be disappointed!
Review 15 for Brother MFC–J430W Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DaveW
Location:Johnstown, OH
Uses:Personal use
Age:45-54
Date:May 8, 2013
Nice Value
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
Easy setup, great on ink so far and cheap to refill.
I am very happy with my purchase and would definitely do it again.
Review 16 for Brother MFC–J430W Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heyjak
Location:Roseville, California
Uses:Personal use
Age:Over 65
Date:May 6, 2013
First Brother Printer I've Used
Pros: Easy to Use, Features
I was originally concerned that this printer seemed a little flimsy and might have to be treated with extreme care. After using for a while, that doesn't seem to be too much of an issue. So far I have copied & printed with good results. Rarely fax anything, so can't comment on faxing at this time.
I've heard from others that this printer isn't fussy about using generic cartridges, but I haven't tried this yet.
Review 17 for Brother MFC–J430W Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TEDBEAR
Location:CLINTON TWP,MI
Uses:Personal use
Age:35-44
Date:April 1, 2013
Better than expected
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
Read others reviews and was concerned about set-up, but was easier than my other past printers to set-up. Very nice printer, especialy for the sale price$59. Blows away the piece o junk canon i had for $199 that constantly errored out. Like the sleep mode option, so i dont have to manualy go to and turn it on.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brother MFC–J430W Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Print Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Easy to Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Speed
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
hanly2
Location:City, State
Uses:School - I'm a Teacher/Administrator
Age:35-44
Date:March 25, 2013
Junk printer
Cons: Does Not Meet Expectations
I bought this printer as a Christmas present for my wife, she is a teacher and does a ton of printing. We had another printer that I wanted to use all of the ink for before we started using this one, so we hadn't started using it until Feb. Well after printing enough to finish the black cartridge that came with it we tried to install a new one, well the printer just says "cartridge not dectected" No matter what we do it will not go away. So now we are stuck with a $99 paper weight.
6 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brother MFC–J430W Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MommyofaBossBaby
Location:Miami, Fl
Uses:School - I'm a Student
Age:18-24
Date:March 15, 2013
Great
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
The set up for wireless printing was pretty difficult but that may just be the type of wireless internet that I have. I have a laptop not a desk top. Print quality is great and super fast. Its pretty heavy so it doesn't sit on top of my desk but on the side/ floor .
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brother MFC–J430W Inkjet All–in–One
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Speed
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beachblue
Location:Melbourne Beach, Florida
Uses:Personal use
Age:55-64
Date:March 13, 2013
Better than I expected
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features, price and value
The price I paid for this printer had me believing I was getting a basic, no frills printer. To my surprise after just 2 days with this printer I could not be more delighted. The built in set up wizard faultlessly installed to my wireless router and the cd downloaded easily to 2 of my laptop computers. My 3rd computer is a netbook and does not have a cd drive so I went online to brother.com and downloaded the drivers in no time at all and all 3 of them printed first time without need for any adjustment. Then to top it all I found an app for my iphone which allowed me to send and print pictures from my camera roll wirelessly.
I thoroughly recommend this printer to anyone looking for a real workhorse of a printer that will be a pleasure to own.
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>