Printer

OfficeMax Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OfficeMax.

Toshiba *DISCO*Toshiba Satellite P755–S5387 Laptop

2nd generation Intel Core i7–2670QM processor, 750GB hard drive, 6GB system memory, and 15.6" display
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
14 out of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for *DISCO*Toshiba Satellite P755–S5387 Laptop
Review 1 for *DISCO*Toshiba Satellite P755–S5387 Laptop
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
knights4chaos
Location:Elko, Nevada
Uses:School - I'm a Student
Age:18-24
Date:April 15, 2012
Great Laptop
Pros: Screen Size, Processing Speed, Storage Space
I have had this laptop for 7 months now and I have put it through the performance ringer. I am a student majoring in mechanical engineering. I require a computer capable of handling some demanding programs for CADD and rendering applications. This laptop delivers. The i7 doesn't flinch a bit under a load. The turbo boost helps a lot too. I have never seen the CPU use more than 40% of its capacity, including running several websites, a couple CADD programs, an HTML editor, playing music, and rendering an animation, all at once. The integrated graphics are actually very nice. Integrated graphics are often frowned upon in the performance computing community, but they really are not that bad in this laptop. The display is vivid and bright. The back-lit keyboard is a must for late night cramming and other low-light situations. The finish, while some say feels cheap, I say is very appealing. It looks great. For the price you would have to assume that you aren't getting some fancy rugged case. The finish adds a nice, unique texture and look that you don't often see in the trite gloss/matte finishes of most laptops. This laptop is the perfect combination of performance, price, and practicality.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for *DISCO*Toshiba Satellite P755–S5387 Laptop
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Component Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
startracker
Location:oro grande, ca
Uses:Personal use
Age:45-54
Date:March 6, 2012
Better than I thought
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space
Cons: battery
Out of the box and powered up for the first time, initially I was not impressed. It didn't seem to be much faster than the laptop I replaced it with. As time went on though, I did notice a huge difference between the two laptops, of course this one is faster. The pros outway the cons by a long shot, not many cons I can write about except of course is the battery. the battery does not hold the 6 hour charge as the specs say. They do have 12 cell batteries for this machine, just google it and you will find many batteries at a really good price. In short, I shopped for a long time and found this laptop which fulfiulled many of my requirements, the backlit keyboard was a biggy and a quad core processor was another. This laptop will do everything you need it to do and more.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for *DISCO*Toshiba Satellite P755–S5387 Laptop
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Component Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
andysan
Location:City, State
Uses:Personal use
Age:35-44
Date:February 2, 2012
Not Perfect But Great Computer Nonetheless
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space, Screen Size, backlit keyboard, light weight
Cons: loose battery pack, cheap plastic feel
After an exhaustive search for a new laptop, I found the Toshiba Satellite P755-S5387 at Officemax. What a great find! I'm not a techie so I don't know about all the technical details. I do however play some pc games and it performed quite well.
What I like about it: Backlit keyboard (if you're buying a new computer, this feature is a must. It makes life a lot easier when you can see the keys in low light!)
It weighs about 5 lbs. but feels lighter. My other Toshiba laptop is a 17" and weighs a ton! So transporting this one is really easy.
It's fast and can play games like Skyrim with great detail (although it did slow down quite a bit at the highest settings, it's a bit disappointing that it doesn't have a dedicated graphics card). No issues with other games I've tried, like Modern Warfare and Battlefield 2.
The Resolution Plus feature is cool - it made a big difference watching dvds - sharper images, vivid color. It's not quite HD but made a difference.
What I don't: It feels like cheap plastic, as has been mentioned in other reviews. But whatever, i can live with that.
Another is that the battery pack feels very loose! It feels like it's about to fall out.
Overall it's a great computer. Not perfect, but I feel I've made a good decision to buy it when I did, because it now costs about $180 more.
I compared a lot of other computers before I bought this one (Sony Vaio, HP Pavilion, Dell) and for the price, and with all the features included, it's awesome! I love it and will add to my review after I thoroughly run it through it's paces!
Review 4 for *DISCO*Toshiba Satellite P755–S5387 Laptop
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thomas in Maui
Location:Makawao, hawaii
Uses:Work
Age:45-54
Date:January 30, 2012
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space, Screen Size, iluminated keypad
Best Purchase Ever Price and ease to use awesome.
Review 5 for *DISCO*Toshiba Satellite P755–S5387 Laptop
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ivlady52
Location:City, State
Date:January 30, 2012
Easy to set up and use
Pros: Processing Speed, Screen Size
As a somewhat computer beginner I was unsure how to proceed but after just a few minutes it was easy to set up
without any glitches. A great buy for me
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for *DISCO*Toshiba Satellite P755–S5387 Laptop
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Component Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
dfind
Location:Fontana, CA
Uses:Personal use
Age:45-54
Date:January 26, 2012
Toshiba Satellite P755-S5387 Review
Overall I like the Satellite P755 a lot, but there is room for a few improvements.
PROS: The Toshiba Satellite P755 has an eye catching design and is loaded with lots of great features such as a top of the line i7 processor a spacious 750 GB hard drive as well as 6GBs of RAM. It also has a backlit keyboard, separate control panel above the keyboard for volume, WiFi, pause & play etc. The touch pad has a convenient on/off switch right above it and there is also a generous number of USB ports (4 to be exact) for connecting flash drives and peripheral devices. This computer runs very cool. It has never gotten hot in the month that I have owned it and since heat kills laptops faster than a can of Raid kills a cock roach a cool running laptop is a very good thing. The speakers on this laptop are outstanding. Most laptops have pretty pathetic speakers but the ones on the Satellite P755 are the loudest and have the best sound quality of any laptop I have encountered. The price was unbeatable, I got this computer on sale, around Christmas time at Office Max, for $699 but the regular price was $879.
CONS: First of all (and this is my number 1 complaint) the plastic body feels kind of leak and flimsy and everyone who has held my computer agreed. Second the hard drive speed is only 5400rpm. Why pair a top of the line i7 CPU with a slow hard drive. All computers with an i7 CPU should have a 7200rpm hard drive. The webcam is very low resolution and has poor video quality. I have seen very cheap $300 laptop computers with webcams that have much better video quality than the $879 Toshiba Satellite P755. Finally my particular P755 model configuration did not come with a dedicated video card but that isn't real important if you are not a gamer.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for *DISCO*Toshiba Satellite P755–S5387 Laptop
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kagydog
Location:mpls, mn
Uses:My own company
Age:45-54
Date:January 9, 2012
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space, Screen Size
good solid package for a good price. fast processor plenty of storage. nicely packaged hard to find all in one place for the price.
Review 8 for *DISCO*Toshiba Satellite P755–S5387 Laptop
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tracyd
Location:Atlanta, GA
Uses:Personal use
Age:45-54
Date:January 2, 2012
Great Product - Great Deal - EASY!
Pros: Screen Size, Processing Speed, Storage Space
This was a family gift for Christmas and it arrived on time, was so easy to configure, and I'm very please with the performance. Office Max offered the PC at a great price - Thanks!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for *DISCO*Toshiba Satellite P755–S5387 Laptop
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rose502
Location:New Haven, IN
Uses:Personal use
Age:35-44
Date:January 2, 2012
Great computer, excellent price
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space, Screen Size, on-line gaming
Cons: hard drive protection
I got this laptop on sale for my husband for Christmas. He is an on-line gamer so I wanted the i7. This was the best price I found anywhere on an i7. Excellent speed and good graphics. He loves it! The only downside is the hard drive protection. It will freeze at the slightest movement. It's a great feature but needs to be a little less sensitive.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for *DISCO*Toshiba Satellite P755–S5387 Laptop
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Smokey Joe
Location:City, State
Date:December 25, 2011
Super Fast with great Ramm
Pros: Screen Size, Processing Speed, Storage Space
I watched for a good laptop buy. This was easily the best. An I7 at a great price. Finish will be hard to damage. Super fast.
Review 11 for *DISCO*Toshiba Satellite P755–S5387 Laptop
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Peebsie
Location:City, State
Uses:Personal use
Age:45-54
Date:December 19, 2011
Great Laptop!
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space, Screen Size
I've wanted a Toshiba laptop for a long time, and I finally took the plunge on Black Friday. Of course, if I had waited 3 days, I could have gotten it for $50 cheaper. **sigh**
Still, it is an excellent laptop. Lots of space, very fast processor, and looks amazing. I really like it, and would recommend to anyone.
Review 12 for *DISCO*Toshiba Satellite P755–S5387 Laptop
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jadea
Location:City, State
Date:December 19, 2011
Great Laptop for the Price
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space, Screen Size
Great processing speed and performance. Love the Fusion X2 Finish and the sound system.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for *DISCO*Toshiba Satellite P755–S5387 Laptop
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChasingChase
Location:Fairport, NY
Uses:Personal use
Age:35-44
Date:December 17, 2011
I7 Sweetness
Pros: Processing Speed, Storage Space, Screen Size, good battery life for an i7, battery upgradeable to a 12 cell, usb 3.0, excellent screen, backlit keyboard toggled on/off/timer
Electronics guru here. Let's get started. I was shopping for a notebook for the wife for Christmas. Being that I own already a HP with an I7-2630qm, I picked up the unit on sale at $699.99.
You pretty much all set for the future with this notebook. I7-2670qm with a cpu mark of 6786. A high speed usb 3.0 for high speed data transfers. A vivid screen and a smooth backlit keyboard. The sound is crisp and loud for a notebook.
As for battery life, the computer comes with a 6 cell battery that gives you about 4-5 hours with general surfing under balanced mode and slightly more under eco mode. Really not that bad being that you are running a quad core processor. Great news is that you can order a 12 cell battery that will give you 10-12 hours battery life and 6-8 hours battery life under performance mode.
This is a desktop replacement. Plug it in and watch it fly. Move it to performance mode and experience turboboosts up to 3.1ghz. Perfect for photo and video editing. Check cpu charts at passmark.com if you don't believe me.
If you are torn about getting the similiar toshiba notebook with the i5-2430m get the I7 period. Spend the extra $100 and future proof yourself.
For the price and options included in this notebook, this is the best bang for the buck that OfficeMax currently offers. Believe me, I research everything.
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for *DISCO*Toshiba Satellite P755–S5387 Laptop
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Component Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5