Printer

OfficeMax Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Epson Epson Expression Home XP–400 Small–in–One Printer

Print, copy, scan and more – get all the performance you need from the sleek, quiet, user–friendly Expression Home XP–400. With easy wireless printing this Small–in–One can be shared with everyone in your household. EPSON Connect offers convenient mobile printing from smartphones, tablets and more1. The XP–400 also supports Apple AirPrint and Google Cloud Print. This compact performer even offers card slots for PC–free printing. Scan and archive important documents, quickly produce color copies, and use the image enhancement tools to get perfect prints, every time. When you re in a rush, you can grab your prints and go, thanks to DURABrite Ultra instant–dry ink. The Expression Home XP–400 even offers individual ink cartridges so you can replace only the color that you need.
Average Customer Rating:
4.269 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
1,511 out of 1,746(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Epson Expression Home XP–400 Small–in–One Printer
Review 1 for Epson Expression Home XP–400 Small–in–One Printer
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AquaMan
Location:City, State
Date:July 5, 2013
Out Of Box Review
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations
I bought this today as a display unit for $49, within 30 minutes it was up and running using our PC's, IPads, and IPhone's. Good print quality, compact, and Wifi was easy to set up. Also like the colors are separate cartridges.
Review 2 for Epson Expression Home XP–400 Small–in–One Printer
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Minersville PA
Uses:Personal use
Age:45-54
Date:June 10, 2013
So far content & less stress.
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, set up in record time for menot handy
Set up in record time with direction for someone who has a hard time.So far happy,keep checking ink level..Previously sent back 2 brand new HP printers,defective,thought would be death of me.
Review 3 for Epson Expression Home XP–400 Small–in–One Printer
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dvykns
Location:Chadds Ford, PA
Uses:Personal use
Age:55-64
Date:March 25, 2013
Neat iPhone Printer
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
I'd been looking for a way to print directly from my iPhone ansd iPad and one of the reps in the Apple store recommended this Epson model. I saw that OfficeMax had it at the lowest price and jumped in with both feet. Although you can print directly from a photo or document, you can't control size, print quallity, etc. unless you download the free Epson iPrint app which gives you those options. Then it's awesome with no problems with wireless setup. Well worth the price.
Review 4 for Epson Expression Home XP–400 Small–in–One Printer
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Easy to Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Speed
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sandman4x4
Location:Vineyard Haven MA
Uses:Personal use
Age:55-64
Date:March 5, 2013
XP-400
Pros: Easy to Use, Features
Cons: pictures not very good
This is only the second printer we have ever owned, the first was a real cheepo, and the "ink" was a rip-off! we thru that away some time ago! After getting tired of going to the library to print stuff, we broke down and did some looking, and your printer had decent reviews, and the set up was suppose to be easy. Well the set up was very easy, and it only took about 10 min. to set up and print, the "ink" is reasonable and the speed is ok, when printing pictures however, the quarlity is not very good, not bad mind you, but it could be better, and the speed is just ok, but for the $ spent we are satisfied, over all good product.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Epson Expression Home XP–400 Small–in–One Printer
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
caitnell
Location:Winston Salem, NC
Uses:Personal use
Age:18-24
Date:March 4, 2013
So far so good
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features, great size, touch screen display
I just got this printer today after thinking about it for a week or so. Read lots of reviews and can't ignore how good they are! Great price at office max (office depot has them this cheap too). I would totally buy it for more. Fell in love with it when i first saw it at best buy.
Love the size and the touch screen. Love the fact that it is wireless (besides power chord). Ink cartridges are included. Be very gentle when picking it up and pick it up by the sides and not front and back (the back will flip up and you might drop it)
It is very securely packed in box to the point I couldn't get it out, so I had to cut the box. Easy set up.. took 4 minutes to initialize.
Works with Macs (I have one) and is on the Apple website too.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Epson Expression Home XP–400 Small–in–One Printer
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Print Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Easy to Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Speed
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
readingkeyboardmusic
Location:City, State
Date:January 31, 2013
I'm sorry I bought this printer
Cons: Does Not Meet Expectations
The top load paper option is not a good choice. The paper kept getting pulled through, several sheets at a time. Very frustrating. The ink was very hard to find. I went to two Staples stores and a Wal-Mart. They all were out of the ink I needed for this printer. I actually ended up buying an HP6600 because it was cheaper to just buy another printer than running around town looking for more ink.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Epson Expression Home XP–400 Small–in–One Printer
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
IRIR
Location:Saint Paul, MN
Date:January 27, 2013
Prints wider than 8 1/2"
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: high capacity cartridges not available yet
I bought two of these printers because I needed to print on the front and back of 9"x12" envelopes. This model prints clearly and crisply.
I'm glad it doesn't print duplex because if it did, it would likely crinkle the envelopes in the rollers.
Review 8 for Epson Expression Home XP–400 Small–in–One Printer
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Stacks
Location:Dallas, TX
Uses:Work
Age:25-34
Date:January 8, 2013
Like it
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
Good printer. Very easy to set up. Cheapest AirPrint printer I could find. Not the fastest printer, & it is quite loud. Would not use it for printing pictures, but overall nice. Happy with purchase.
Review 9 for Epson Expression Home XP–400 Small–in–One Printer
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
glennb007
Location:Cedar Bluff, Al
Uses:Personal use
Age:Over 65
Date:January 7, 2013
Good printer
Pros: Meets Expectations, Features
Printer had a great price so I bought to replace an old Brother multifunction unit which the ink prices had went up considerably so I bought this printer as the ink cost was a lot lower and wireless network capable. Install was easy and no problems encountered. Print quality is excellent. Speed is slower but not important. Would recommend for a good low cost printer that does the job well. Have never had an Epson printer so I was impressed. Have always bought HP or Brother.
Review 10 for Epson Expression Home XP–400 Small–in–One Printer
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Central Illinois
Uses:Personal use
Date:December 22, 2012
Easily shared printer
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
We chose this printer because we wanted an inexpensive method of printing from the multiple laptop and desktop computers in our house. The installation disc made it easy to set up and connect all our devices through our wireless network. Although we were initially only interested in printing, the copy and scan features have come in handy as well. I haven't tried printing remotely through the email address Epson provides, but I have every reason to believe that feature will also perform flawlessly. I recommend this machine as an excellent value and easy to use shared device.
Review 11 for Epson Expression Home XP–400 Small–in–One Printer
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kyuumu
Location:brooklyn ny
Uses:Personal use
Age:35-44
Date:December 21, 2012
Completely Happy!
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
I bought the xp-400 to replace an hp 6110 that I had for 4 years and was second hand from a family member. I was hesitant to purchase a different brand of printer and had been completely happy with my rather loud hp. I did alot of research before this purchase and knew the epson xp - 400 had excellent reviews. I am happy to say they are completely true. This printer is quiet and has printed everything I need to print beautifully, quickly and with over half the noise. The design is sleek and way smaller than my previous printer. The touch display works perfectly and is adequately sensitive. The only glitch I had was on install which was my fault, word of wisdom, do not have other process's running during install. Once I closed out all other process's the install went off without a hitch and took only 15 minutes. Overall I would definitely buy this printer again and recommend others to do the same.
Review 12 for Epson Expression Home XP–400 Small–in–One Printer
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bhcs
Location:janesville, wisconsin
Uses:Work
Age:45-54
Date:October 30, 2012
impressive
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features, price
perfect size, quiet so you can still be on the phone next to it. functions that are needed for work and home. priced for everyone.
Review 13 for Epson Expression Home XP–400 Small–in–One Printer
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Speed
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
imanilea
Location:Oakland California
Uses:Personal use
Age:35-44
Date:October 12, 2012
Compact, easy setup, great printer
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
"So far so good. I've only printed two documents, but I was able to set up the printer in less than 20 minutes (including the time the computer took 'thinking' about things), and then I was printing right away. The 2 things I like best are that the toner is inexpensive, and the printer is very small and compact. Its not taking up a lot of space so I can have it right on top of my desk."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Epson Expression Home XP–400 Small–in–One Printer
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Speed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
printing finger
Location:S.M,CA
Uses:Personal use
Age:55-64
Date:October 9, 2012
Great Surprise
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features, best purchase i ever made
I sent my computer a recent photo and My New XP400 printed it out much better than on the cell phone,also copied a 4x6 photo enlarged to letter size and no flaws at all PERFECT PHOTO ENLARGEMENT
Review 15 for Epson Expression Home XP–400 Small–in–One Printer
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
owls
Location:City, State
Date:October 3, 2012
Wonderful Printer!
Pros: Easy to Use
Love our new Epson Printer. It was highly recommended by the salesman in the store and also my computer guy. Thanks so much.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Epson Expression Home XP–400 Small–in–One Printer
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
thedas
Location:San Diego, CA
Uses:Personal use
Age:Over 65
Date:August 20, 2012
Exceeds Expectations
Pros: Easy to Use, Features, small size
Almost perfect size, (cabinet dimension problem), easy to setup, very nice product.
Review 17 for Epson Expression Home XP–400 Small–in–One Printer
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Speed
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
seriouslysandi
Location:City, State
Date:August 6, 2012
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, set-up was very easy
Cons: Features
I am very impressed with the networking and the ease of set-up; I am a bit confused with the scanning. My attempts last week were very frustrating so I will have to research further. Other than that, printing is quick, clean and more than I thought I would get from a network printer that was so inexpensive.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Epson Expression Home XP–400 Small–in–One Printer
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Easy to Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sskspace
Location:Asutin, TX
Uses:Personal use
Age:25-34
Date:July 31, 2012
Epson XP 400
Pros: Easy to Use, Meets Expectations, Features
Shipping was very fast got it in 2 -3 days.
you can setup the printer even without the USB cable. it worked fine on our Win 7 machine.
It didn't work easily with my Win XP netbook, but thanks to the email feature, I just send my printouts to the epson email & voila my printout is ready.
Dont expect it to be fast, it is an inkjet so it takes a reasonable amount of time to start up each print out.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Epson Expression Home XP–400 Small–in–One Printer
Based on the average of (1,728) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1,494 out of 1,728
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to Use
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Speed
4 out of 5
4 out of 5