Printer

OfficeMax Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Officemax Bradford Corner Desk, Black

The perfect piece for a student's room or small home office.
Average Customer Rating:
3.588 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
12 out of 17(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bradford Corner Desk, Black
Review 1 for Bradford Corner Desk, Black
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
neminems
Location:Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Uses:School - I'm a Student
Age:18-24
Date:April 15, 2014
Nice looking!!
Pros: Quality, Design
Cons: Assembly
This desk is absolutely BEAUTIFUL once its assembled, I don't know about the durability because i've only had it for a week and I haven't used it yet because I don't start school until august. The desk looks like you do have to be careful around it, you know ... dont let it get wet or scratched or whatever, the works.
However, it IS a pain in the butt to assemble. I ran into a couple of problems while building it, the first problem was that the holes where the wooden dowels were supposed to go were WAY too big, it's actually kind of hilarious because the picture in the instructions book shows as if they need to be hammered in. The desk does come with glue, however it is not enough. I PROMISE that you WILL need more wood glue, so before you start assembling go buy some if you don't have any. We started pouring the glue into the holes, inserting the dowels and giving it some time so that it would partially dry as we assembled other parts. In the end it all worked out fairly well, the glue held the dowels and the other desk pieces together, so it was no biggie.
The other problem that I had was that the desk came with two of the #25 pieces instead of the #25 and #26 which are the ones that made up the sides of the bottom drawer, I was able to assemble the whole desk and leave the drawer for later. I went about a week later to Office Max and they immediately exchanged it for me.
The last thing that I would say is don't use TOO much strength when tightening the lock cams, I did so on one of them and it broke. The desk comes with a little bag of spare pieces that had one extra lock cam, so I was able to finish the job, but note that they were very few spare parts.
Other than that, my recommendation is that you do follow what everyone says on these reviews. The most important recommendation is: "Assemble the desk where you want to put it." It is almost impossible to assemble and then move it, I do believe that it WILL break if you do so. Also, "Have someone help you put the top part", there are a bunch of tiny holes that you need to pair up with screws and its kind of a tough job to do by yourself.
All in all, I would recommend this desk to anyone. I personally believe that the finished product is absolutely beautiful. I decided to assemble mine with the long part to the right because that's the only way it would fit in my room, so it was very nice to have that option. The actual assembly (other than the dowels and the repeated pieces) was fairly simple, but time consuming. It took me and my mom about 5ish hours with a pizza and a walmart break. I honestly found more positives than negatives. Hope this helps!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Bradford Corner Desk, Black
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
NBK52911
Location:Naugatuck, CT
Uses:Work
Age:25-34
Date:April 10, 2014
Waste of Money
Cons: Quality, Design, Assembly
First off, the delivery was delayed for 2 days and no one knew why. Then, when we tried to put it together, I was again disappointed. The dowels that come with this piece of junk are half the size of the holes they are supposed to go in. As we are putting this thing together, other pieces are falling off. My boyfriend assembled this for me as he has been a contractor for 20+ years and while the instructions were clear, he said this was a HUGE waste of money. He had to use silicone to keep the pieces together and had to screw the desk into the wall in order to keep it from falling apart.
Review 3 for Bradford Corner Desk, Black
User Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
boydsten
Location:City, State
Date:February 17, 2014
like my dad said, you get what you pay for
Pros: price
Cons: Quality, Assembly
for a hundred and twenty nine bucks, you can't beat it, but you get what you pay for.
tons of pieces to put together, not difficult, just time consuming. locking cams break with simple hand strength and it would be nice if the wooden dowels fit more tightly into the holes. I had to use glue and it takes more than the kit provides.
not a bad starter desk, just don't expect too much.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bradford Corner Desk, Black
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kerrydagr8
Location:City, State
Age:25-34
Date:February 7, 2014
Piece of junk!
This product is absolutely horrific... It took forever to put together and it was heavy like someone else mentioned. Everytime you get one piece together another piece falls apart. The laminate is missing in pieces and easily comes off. If you even get this thing together- (putting the top on does make it a little sturdier) you CANNOT move it because it will break. I would not recommend this desk to ANYONE... keep looking! Waste of Money!!
Review 5 for Bradford Corner Desk, Black
User Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
iluv2teach
Location:OR
Uses:School - I'm a Teacher/Administrator
Age:45-54
Date:January 31, 2014
Not what I expected
I agree with one reviewer on the size. I thought that it would be a lot smaller. I've had several compliments on the appearance of the desk, but it was very difficult to assemble and it cannot be moved once in place or it will break! One piece of laminate had already come off in the packaging and another came off shortly after. I covered one with black ink pen, the other, luckily, is hidden from view. The file drawer just broke the other day and I didn't have very many files in it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bradford Corner Desk, Black
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mwhitak2
Location:Texas
Uses:Personal use
Age:25-34
Date:September 28, 2013
The Perfect Corner Desk
Pros: Quality, Design
Cons: Assembly
I was looking for a piece of furniture that I could put in a small office in my home. I needed something to hold my laptop,printer, router, and phone, while giving me space to work, yet not take up too much space.
I received an email since I am a MaxPerks member informing me of a "Flash Sale" that lasted only so many hours and was online only. This desk was part of that sale at $99.99. This was a 50% savings and was the perfect solution for my needs. I'm one for instant gratification, so I used the "Online In Store Pickup" option so that I could pick it up the same day and not wait for shipping.
When I got it home, after looking at the picture on the box, I got a little bummed because the longer edge was on the wrong side for my corner. I was determined to make it work for my room and proceeded to assemble the desk. As I got to the end of assembly I was pleasantly surprised. You have 2 options on the assembly and can put the long edge on either side of the corner. I'm so glad this desk was designed with both options available.
Even though I'm not using this desk for a desktop computer, it has a place for a tower with a cutout in the back for ventilation and cords. Inside this cabinet there is a height adjustable shelf. The front of the CPU cabinet has a frosted glass door so that anything put inside is hidden nicely. There is a slide out keyboard drawer underneath the center of the desk. The other side of the desk has a file drawer, smaller multipurpose drawer, and 2 shelves with an optional 3rd if you decide to install it. At the rear corner of the desk there is a cutout with a plastic grommet for cords to run through. The desk is available in black, cherry, or oak.
Please take note that the assembly is not difficult, but VERY time consuming and tedious. There seemed to be a never ending box of parts and pieces. It took me about 4 hours to assemble it by myself. If I had to purchase another one, I would happily pay the assembly charge, because my time is worth more than that.
Overall, I'm very pleased with the product, and even at full price this desk is a great value!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bradford Corner Desk, Black
User Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sebringnr
Location:New Orleans
Uses:School - I'm a Teacher/Administrator
Age:45-54
Date:July 22, 2013
Description is not accurate
Pros: Design
Cons: Assembly
This corner desk is really quite large even though the description says it is small. I seriously doubt that it would fit in a student's room. Also it is very hard to put together and takes two people to get the desk top on, I ended up doing it myself but I hurt the next day. I've only had the desk for a month but so far it has stood up to some heavey everyday use.
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bradford Corner Desk, Black
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1mimi
Location:Claremre, OK
Uses:Personal use
Age:45-54
Date:May 7, 2013
Great purchase for the price
Pros: Quality, Design, Assembly
I wanted a corner desk for a small room & this was perfect! I have NEVER put anything together & my husband said he was not even going to attempt. When I received the box & seen all the parts, I didn't think I would be able to get it assembled myself. The challenge was on!! Every piece & hardware was marked to make this very easy! I just laid out the parts in my garage, started carrying parts one by one & followed directions exactly. I recommend to assemble in the room it's going in, it's to heavy to move once it's together. I also recommend when you move it to the exact spot be sure you have someone there to help. Don't try to move it a little at a time. I did & I heard one of my boards crack a little, but everything still in one piece!! This took me about 4 hrs to put together. My husband was impressed that I did this & loved the looks of the desk!! This desk is perfect for my everyday personal use!!
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bradford Corner Desk, Black
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Franciel
Location:Florida
Uses:Personal use
Age:Over 65
Date:April 22, 2013
Good value
Pros: Quality, Design
Cons: Assembly
Good value for the money. Looks great in the corner of my small office.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bradford Corner Desk, Black
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marizee
Location:bakersfield, ca
Uses:Personal use
Age:45-54
Date:February 11, 2013
Pros: Design
Cons: Assembly
For the price, this desk is fantastic. All the parts came in the box, nothing was broken, all parts were marked. It took a couple hours to put this together. I like the modern look and there is ample space for my computer, printer, etc. All in all, I am very pleased with this desk.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bradford Corner Desk, Black
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tc413
Location:Fenton, MI
Uses:Personal use
Age:55-64
Date:January 8, 2013
Satisfied with Everything
Pros: Quality, Design, Assembly
Desk looks great and it arrive within two days of ordering even though it was the week before Christmas.
Review 12 for Bradford Corner Desk, Black
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CP11
Location:City, State
Date:January 7, 2013
office desk
Cons: Quality
nice desk for the money - easily scratched, so be careful putting it together. Material is kind of cheap
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bradford Corner Desk, Black
User Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Woodnoggin
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Uses:Personal use
Age:35-44
Date:December 31, 2012
Okay for the money
Pros: Design
Cons: Assembly
It took 3+ hours to assemble. Some of the joints (desk drawer) needed more support as the cork board joints did not grab/fasten correctly. Home Depot L brackets fixed the issue. The desk is sturdy if not moved, but when moved, the main joint needs support on both sides.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bradford Corner Desk, Black
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Skittles
Location:Minnetonka Minnesota
Uses:Work
Age:Over 65
Date:December 31, 2012
Too many pieces....
Pros: Design
Cons: Assembly
I ordered online, the desk arrived within 24 hours. The problems? It had more than 36 pieces and over 100 "screws" attachments, whatever they are called. They all came in one box too heavy for a woman to lift and when I opened the box everything fell onto the floor and what a freakin' mess. Would I do it again - heck no. I had to hire someone to assemble it.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bradford Corner Desk, Black
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brittanye
Location:Newnan, Georgia
Uses:Work
Age:18-24
Date:December 18, 2012
Amazing Deal
Pros: Quality, Design, Assembly, caddy-corner for extra room, Storage Space
Cons: Assembly
I shopped at quite a few places before finally finding this desk @ my local Office Max & I managed to snag this desk at an amazing price of $99.99 - which I did not realize was a limited time sale price, so I am thrilled that I found it when I did since it is back up to the normal price now. Even at $199.99, I would recommend this desk as it is a great product and well worth the price. I work with dual monitors & therefore need extra room, and this provides more than enough space & durability. The only con was the time it took to assemble - we did not opt for the Office Max team to deliver/assemble since my boyfriend is good at that & we saved a good bit by doing it ourself - however it took him a good 5 hours & he needed help so if your budget allows the extra $ they charge for delivery/assembly, I would say go for it. Overall I am very happy with my purchase & Office Max has won me over for life.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bradford Corner Desk, Black
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katey
Location:Shreveport, LA
Uses:Personal use
Date:December 16, 2012
Bradford Corner Desk
Pros: Quality, Design, Assembly
Cons: heavy..do not order online for delivery
This product is HEAVY. I would not recommend ordering online for delivery. There is no way this would arrive undamaged. When I got home, I had to unpack the pieces from the back of my truck and take them one at a time into my house. Took me approximately 2 1/2 hours to unpack, wipe the pieces down, lay them out in order and check inventory to make sure all pieces were there. The "L" piece was missing, which I called the 800# and they were friendly in getting my info and sending the missing part. After I began putting the unit together, I discovered the "L" piece (which was screws) were attached to the handles. It took me approximately 3 hours to put together this desk. I only needed assistance when putting the Desk Top (piece #1) on. Some of the screw attachments did not want to hold, but after getting the Desk Top in place, everything seems secure.
This desk is perfect for my needs. The desk top is roomy enough for my PC to be on the desk (not in the section for it...I have my trash can there), along with my large widescreen monitor, with plenty of room to write. The side drawer stand holds my scanner perfectly.
I've rated 3 Stars on durability, because I've only had the desk for 3 days. 5 Stars of Value for Money because I caught this on sale for $129.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Bradford Corner Desk, Black
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5